08/24/10 — Top teacher to be named at banquet this Thursday

View Archive

Top teacher to be named at banquet this Thursday

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on August 24, 2010 2:35 PM

Teacher of the Year finalists for Wayne County Public Schools have been named, with the district winner to be announced later this week.

Finalists were selected to represent the elementary, middle and high school levels.

Melissa Edgerton, a fifth-grade teacher at Northwest Elementary School, is elementary school Teacher of the Year, while Jennifer Harper, a math and science teacher at Mount Olive Middle, represents the middle schools, and Scott Hardy from Spring Creek High represents the high school teachers.

The annual Teacher of the Year banquet will be held on Thursday evening at Walnut Creek Country Club.

Mrs. Edgerton has been teaching for 11 years, the past two at Northwest.

"Mrs. Edgerton's dedication to the teaching profession goes beyond the classroom," her principal, Theresa Cox, said. "She is a true model of a 'lifelong learner.' Through her love and passion for what she does, she promotes the teaching profession as an important link to our future."

This is Mrs. Harper's second year at Mount Olive Middle. She has been in the profession for 12 years.

Her principal, Gail Sasser, said she "truly defines what an authentic teacher is in the 21st century."

"Her use and enhancement of virtual field trips, classroom speakers and cooperative learning experiences are samples of how students relate classroom learning to the real world."

Hardy, who teaches grades 9-12 civics, world history and U.S. history, has been at Spring Creek 12 of his 14 years in the field.

"Mr. Hardy's enthusiasm, innovativeness and his genuine concern for educating children are exemplary," said Stephen Clingan, Spring Creek principal. "(He) employs powerful teaching and learning techniques that help students of all abilities learn. His caring attitude and superior knowledge of the subject make him effective with all students."

In addition to the distinction of being named "Teacher of the Year," the district winner will receive a $5,000 travel/study stipend, a $1,500 check and will next compete at the regional level. The two local finalists will receive a $4,000 travel/study stipend.