05/23/11 — Hood named Middle Art Educator

View Archive

Hood named Middle Art Educator

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on May 23, 2011 1:46 PM

Full Size

Submitted photo

Benny Hood, second from left, a Rosewood Middle School art teacher, was recently named Zeno Spence Middle Art Educator for 2010-11. Also pictured, from left, are Dr. Steven Taylor, schools superintendent, Zeno Spence, and Hope Meyerhoeffer, director of the visual arts and performing arts programs.

Rosewood Middle School art teacher Benny Hood was named Zeno Spence Middle Art Educator for 2010-11, during the Wayne County Public Schools' annual visual arts reception which also recognized 36 student artists.

The ceremonies have been held for 20 years in cooperation with the Arts Council of Wayne County.

Awards and winners in each category include the following:

*Jamie Thompson of Rosewood High was honored for this past year's Christmas card design, featured on the holiday card mailed out by the central office.

*Superintendent's Choice Art, for students K-12:

First place, Dyamond George, Carver Heights Elementary, grades K-2; Francisco Castaneda, Eastern Wayne Elementary, grades 3-5; Christopher Walton, Brogden Middle, grades 6-8; and Jenaye Williams, Rosewood High, grades 9 -12

Second place, Katie Brown, Fremont STARS Elementary, grades 3-5; Brenda Diaz, Grantham School, grades 6-8; and Davarius Williams, Southern Wayne High, grades 9-12

Third place, Katrina Rhodehouse, Rosewood Elementary, grades 3-5; John Cox, Greenwood Middle, grades 6-8; and Jo Turner, Spring Creek High, grades 9-12

Honorable mention, Roberto Baltazar, Brogden Primary, Marvin Montalvo, Carver, Elijah Todd, Dillard Middle, Julianne Haifley, Aycock High, Dylan Kearney, Eastern Wayne Middle, Courtney Royall, Eastern Wayne High, Kristen Furin, Edgewood, Ashley Cornelio, Goldsboro High, Brandon Chase, Grantham, Kendall Myers, Meadow Lane, Alex Hester Parrish, Mount Olive Middle, DeOveion Simmons, North Drive Elementary, Jordan Wilson, Northeast Elementary, Olivia Aycock, Northwest Elementary, Sha'Kira Barnes, Norwayne Middle, Jessica Murillo, Rosewood Middle, Tracey Perez, Spring Creek Elementary, A'diamond Best, School Street Elementary, and Monique Ward, Tommy's Road Elementary.

*Scholastic Art, which recognizes students who won Scholastic Art Awards at the regional competition at Barton College earlier in the year: Gold key recipients Enpei Wu, Eastern Wayne High, Shannon Castro, Mount Olive Middle, and Bret Jones, Rosewood Middle; and silver key, Jessica Brannan, Charles B. Aycock High, Jorge Hernandez, Grantham, and Sarah Kemp, Spring Creek High.

The superintendent's choice art will be displayed for a year along the hallways of the district's administrative offices on Royall Avenue.