10/10/11 — WCC honors two instructors with annual awards

View Archive

WCC honors two instructors with annual awards

By From staff reports
Published in News on October 10, 2011 1:46 PM

Two Wayne Community College instructors have been honored with the college's eighth set of Distinguished Chair awards.

Angela Wall, industrial systems and sustainability technology instructor, and Joanne McClave, nursing instructor, each received $5,000 to use for travel and a keepsake for their offices.

The annual recognition is given to outstanding full-time curriculum or continuing education faculty members with at least five years of service with the college. The award was made possible by an anonymous donor to the Foundation of Wayne Community College.

Historically, honorees have used the funds for trips within the United States and to other countries, as well as for student scholarships, equipment for their departments and a departmental marketing campaign.

In announcing the awards, WCC President Kay Albertson called Mrs. McClave "an excellent, seasoned nursing faculty member who adds great depth to the nursing department due to her many commitments beyond her basic job description."

Mrs. McClave provides classroom, laboratory and clinical experiences in the college's practical nursing and associate degree nursing programs. She is the WCC National League for Nursing Ambassador and was selected by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing to be an item writer for the National Council Licensure Examination.

The president also commended Mrs. Wall, who teaches in the industrial systems and sustainability technology programs, for her "boundless ideas and energy" and for being "a positive voice for WCC."

Among Mrs. Wall's accomplishments are Camp Kilowatt, which she established and has run for three summers, and a three-year National Science Foundation Grant for Sustainability Technology and Learning Communities, which she helped attain for hte college.

Past recipients and their titles at the time were Todd King, engineering and manufacturing department chair; Anna Anaya-Vega, pre-curriculum math instructor; Phyllis Patterson, math instructor; Craig Foucht, automotive department chair; Peggy Womble, math instructor; Beth Hooks, business instructor; Dr. Cindy Archie, allied health and public services division chair; Gene Smith Jr., mathematics and science department chair; Faye Best, agriculture and natural resources department chair; Rosalyn Lomax, English and academic orientation instructor; Kathryn Spicer, English instructor; Rachel Hall, nursing department chair; Margaret Boothe Baddour, English and humanities instructor; and Charlotte Brow, history instructor.