10/14/11 — One-stop voting will kick off Thursday

View Archive

One-stop voting will kick off Thursday

By Steve Herring
Published in News on October 14, 2011 1:46 PM

Wayne County's single one-stop voting site will open Thursday morning at the Board of Elections office, 209 S. William St.

One-stop voting will be held Oct. 20 and 21, 24 to 28, Oct. 31 and Nov. 1-4 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily; and from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. Nov. 5.

New voters may complete a voter registration form and vote during that time as well.

The deadline for requesting an absentee ballot by mail is Nov. 1, at 5 p.m. The deadline for returning absentee ballots to the Board of Elections is Nov. 7 at 5 p.m.

Elections in Goldsboro, Mount Olive and Fremont, where board members are elected by districts, have been postponed until next spring because of redistricting.

Filing for those municipalities will begin at noon on Feb. 13, 2012, and end at noon on Feb. 29. The Mount Olive and Fremont elections will be held May 8. Goldsboro's primary, if there are more than two candidates per seat, also would be May 8, with the election June 26.

No one filed for the three seats open on the Eureka town board. The town has a tradition of filling those seats with write-in candidates.

Four candidates filed for the three open seats on the Pikeville town board: Tom Evans, Todd S. Anderson, Robert Hooks and Charles Hooks.

Alan Cash is the only candidate for mayor of Seven Springs, and Bobby Mozingo is the only candidate for the town's three open seats. As in the case of Eureka, those seats would be filled by write-in votes.

There are four candidates for the three open seats on the Walnut Creek board. They are David "Stoney" Sloan, Danny Jackson, Tom Shaw and Greg Ricker.

Four of the county's sanitary districts will have elections as well:

* Fork Township, two seats: Andy G. Hartley, David Jackson, Gary Holland.

* Northwestern Wayne, five seats: William "Bill" Lynch, James S. Kirby, Danny K. Tillman, George Wayne Aycock Jr., Hope A. Hart, Walter F. Bridgers.

* Southern Wayne, three seats: Scott T. Ingram, Marty Shaw, Billy Brock, William "Bill" Harrell, C.R. "Chet" Whitman.

* Southwestern Wayne, five seats: David A. Bennett, W. Harold Hollingsworth Sr., Daryll Overton, Gail Minchew, Jimmy B. Cox, Alan Lumpkin.