11/06/11 — Less than 100 vote early

View Archive

Less than 100 vote early

By Steve Herring
Published in News on November 6, 2011 1:50 AM

Fewer than 100 people took advantage of the 13 days of one-stop voting to cast their ballots in the handful of local municipal and sanitary district elections on tap for Tuesday's election. Only 80 people had voted when one-stop voting ended at 1 p.m. Saturday.

Polls for Tuesday's elections will open at 6:30 a.m. and close at 7:30 p.m.

There are no candidates for the three open seats on the Eureka town board and the town has a tradition of filling board seats with write-in candidates.

Four candidates filed for the three open seats on the Pikeville town board: Tom Evans, Todd S. Anderson, Robert Hooks and Charles Hooks.

Alan Cash is the single candidate for mayor of Seven Springs, and Bobby Mozingo is the only candidate for the town's three open seats. As in the case of Eureka, those seats would be filled by write-in votes.

Four candidates filed for the three open seats on the Walnut Creek board. They are David "Stoney" Sloan, Danny Jackson, Tom Shaw and Greg Ricker.

Four of the county's sanitary districts will have elections:

* Fork Township, two seats: Andy G. Hartley, David Jackson, Gary Holland.

* Northwestern Wayne, five seats: William "Bill" Lynch, James S. Kirby, Danny K. Tillman, George Wayne Aycock Jr., Hope A. Hart, Walter F. Bridgers.

* Southern Wayne, three seats: Scott T. Ingram, Marty Shaw, Billy Brock, William "Bill" Harrell, C.R. "Chet" Whitman.

* Southwestern Wayne, five seats: David A. Bennett, W. Harold Hollingsworth Sr., Daryll Overton, Gail Minchew, Jimmy B. Cox, Alan Lumpkin.

Because of the limited number of elections not all of the county's precinct polling places will open.

The one that will be open on Election Day are:

* 1 Fremont Fire Station, 401 N. Sycamore St., Fremont

* 2 Eureka United Methodist Church, 128 N. Church St., Eureka

* 3 Little River Fire Station, 622 Gurley Dairy Rd., Pikeville

* 4 Pikeville Fire Station, 110 Hooks Grove Church Rd., Pikeville

* 8 Oakland Fire Station, 617 Oakland Church Rd., Princeton

* 9 Westwood United Methodist Church, 130 Short St., Goldsboro

* 14 New Hope Friends Church, 4451 U.S. 70 East, Goldsboro

* 15 Seven Springs Baptist Church, 5924 N.C. 55 East, Seven Springs

* 16 American Legion Post 11, 2973 U.S. 117 South, Dudley

* 24 Grantham Fire Station, 3430 U.S. 13 South, Grantham

* 26 Dudley Fire Station, 4533 U.S. 117 South, Dudley

* 27 May's Chapel Church, 3831 U.S. 117 Alternate South, Dudley.

Because of redistricting municipal elections were delayed until next spring in Goldsboro, Mount Olive and Fremont, where board members are elected by districts.

Filing for those municipalities will begin at noon on Feb. 13, 2012, and end at noon on Feb. 29. The Mount Olive and Fremont elections will be held May 8. Goldsboro's primary, if there are more than two candidates per seat, also would be May 8, with the election June 26.