02/12/12 — Candidate filing opens Monday

View Archive

Candidate filing opens Monday

By Steve Herring
Published in News on February 12, 2012 1:50 AM

Redistricting has changed the political landscape for candidates who can begin filing at noon Monday for municipal, county, state and federal offices. Filing will end at noon on Wednesday, Feb. 29.

The primary will be held May 8, and a second primary, if needed, would be held June 26. The general election is Nov. 6.

For partisan races, a primary is held only if more than one person from each party files for a seat. For non-partisan races, primaries are held only if three or more candidates file for the seat, with the top two vote-getters moving on to the general election.

Municipal elections for Goldsboro, Mount Olive and Fremont normally would have been held in 2011. However, they were shifted to this year because of the redistricting that made it impossible to receive the necessary federal pre-clearance of the new lines prior to the November election day.

The mayor and full boards in each municipality are up for election, as is the full board of Wayne County commissioners. Three seats are up on the Wayne County Board of Education.

Voters also will select candidates for register of deeds, five district court judges, two state senators and three state representatives. The judicial, board of education, register of deeds and Soil and Water Conservation races are non-partisan.

Along with president, voters will also select candidates for governor and for the U.S. House of Representatives.

Governor Beverly Perdue has announced she will not seek re-election. Congressional races on the ballot are: First Congressional District W.K. Butterfield, Democrat, and Third Congressional District Walter B. Jones Jr., Republican.

Municipal races:


Mayor Al King, Democrat.

District 1 Councilman Michael Headen, Democrat.

District 2 Councilman Bob Waller, Democrat, has announced he will not run.

District 3 Councilman Don Chatman, Democrat, has announced he will not run.

District 4 Councilman Charles Williams Sr., Democrat.

District 5 Councilman Chuck Allen, Democrat.

District 6 Councilman Jackie Warrick, Republican, has announced he will not run.

Mount Olive:

Mayor Ray McDonald Sr., Democrat.

Commissioner At-large Ray Thompson, Democrat.

District 1 Commissioner Kenny Talton, Republican, who has announced he will run for the Wayne Count Commission District 2 seat.

District 2 Commissioner Hosea Manley, Democrat.

District 3 Commissioner George Fulghum, Republican.

District 4 Commissioner Gene Lee, Unaffiliated.


Mayor Devone Jones, Democrat.

District 1 Alderman Al Lewis, Democrat.

District 2 Alderman Leon Mooring, Republican.

District 3 Alderman W.T. Smith, Democrat.

District 4 Alderman Harold Cuddington, Unaffiliated.

District 5 Alderman Leroy Ruffin, Democrat.

District 6 Alderman Annie Lewis, Democrat.

County races:

County Commission:

At-large Commissioner Dr. Sandra McCullen, Democrat.

District 1 Commissioner Ray Mayo, Republican, who was appointed to the board in December to complete the unexpired term of Andy Anderson who stepped down after 19 years on the board.

District 2 Commissioner J.D. Evans, Democrat.

District 3 Commissioner John Bell, Democrat.

District 4 Commissioner Steve Keen, Republican.

District 5 Commissioner Bud Gray, Democrat.

District 6 Commissioner Jack Best, Democrat.

Board of Education:

At-large Eddie Radford

District 2 Len Henderson, who was appointed in July 2010 to complete the unexpired term of Shirley Sims who stepped down.

District 3 Thelma Smith.

Other county races:

Register of Deeds Lois Mooring.

Soil and Water Conservation Thomas Uzzell.

Multi-county judicial races:

District Court Judges David Brantley, Lonnie Carraway, Tim Finan, Charles Gaylor and Les Turner.

State legislative races:

Senate District 5 Louis Pate, Republican. Because of the redistricting, Pate now represents District 7.

House District 10 Stephen LaRoque, Republican.

House District 21 Larry Bell, Democrat.

There also is a new House district in Wayne County this year as the result of the redistricting. Efton Sager currently represents House District 11. However, because of the change in district lines he will run in District 4, which is now served by fellow Republican Jimmy Dixon.