04/16/12 — First responder nominated for national award

View Archive

First responder nominated for national award

By From staff reports
Published in News on April 16, 2012 1:46 PM

FAISON -- Glenn Jernigan, retired Duplin County sheriff who spent 36 years with Faison Fire and Rescue, is one of six finalists in a national competition honoring the work of first responders.

The public will choose the $10,000 grand-prize winner of the America's Most Wanted All-Star Contest, sponsored by Sprint, through online votes at AMW.com/AllStar. The online voting began April 6 and will run through noon on May 5.

People may vote for their favorite first responder once a day, every day. National organizations, such as the National Volunteer Fire Council, assisted in identifying the finalists.

Jernigan has dedicated more than 50 years to emergency services, as a volunteer firefighter, EMT, fire chief, sheriff's deputy and sheriff.

He joined Faison Fire and Rescue in 1959 spending 36 years as fire chief. He was instrumental in forming the department's rescue unit in 1968. He retired as chief in 2006 after 36 years, but continues to serve as safety officer and firefighter.

Last year, he became the first North Carolinian to receive the National Volunteer Fire Council's Lifetime Achievement Award presented annually by firefighter equipment manufacturing company Scott Health and Safety.

Jernigan was instrumental in promoting the North Carolina Fire College and supported the N.C. Office of State Fire Marshal in the development and enhancement of specialized training for the state's fire service.

Jernigan has received numerous honors during his career with the fire service including North Carolina Volunteer Fire Chief of the Year and North Carolina Firemen of the Year. He also has been honored as Faison's Fireman of the Year several times. He is a recipient of the Order of the Long Leaf Pine in 2003, the state's highest civilian service award that is presented by the governor.

America's Most Wanted host John Walsh will present the winner with a check for $10,000 at a ceremony to be held next month in Washington, D.C. The winner will also receive a trip to the NASCAR SPRINT Cup Series All-Star Challenge at the Charlotte Motor Speedway in Charlotte.

For more information visit AMW.com/AllStar.