04/20/12 — School district honors volunteers

View Archive

School district honors volunteers

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on April 20, 2012 1:46 PM


Lynne Fulghum, right, talks with Dr. Steve Taylor, superintendent of Wayne County Public Schools. Mrs. Fulghum, of Mount Olive, was named Terry Eugene Pilkington Volunteer of the Year for the district. She volunteers at Carver Elementary School, where her daughter, Georgia, is a second-grader. She is also a public health dental hygienist who works in all the county schools.

Lynne Fulghum can often be found sitting in a classroom reading a story to a child, or bringing in popsicle treats for students.

As a volunteer, she has donated more than 750 volunteer hours at Carver Elementary School in Mount Olive, where her daughter, Georgia, is a second-grader.

"Mrs. Fulghum works tirelessly to provide staff and students with the resources needed to support teaching and learning at our school," Carver principal Lori Goodman said.

In addition to serving on the parent/teacher association board, she credits Mrs. Fulghum with soliciting help from local organizations and churches to spruce up the school grounds.

"Last year, her leadership and drive made it possible for our school to purchase $50,000 worth of playground equipment, which has benefited the entire population of our school," Ms. Goodman said.

At a reception Thursday at North Drive School, Mrs. Fulghum received the annual Terry Eugene Pilkington Volunteer of the Year Award.

"Rarely, rarely am I speechless," she said upon accepting the award. "Not only do I serve as a volunteer but I serve in my full-time job with Wayne County Public Schools as the dental health hygienist so I have the opportunity to serve all the schools in some capacity."

Also during the event, individual volunteers of the year for each school in the district were named, along with recognition of three "Partners in Education."

Since 1995, the program has benefited from time, expertise, materials and funds provided by area businesses and organizations.

"At last count, we have 165 Partners in Education that help support our 31 schools," said J.B. Price, chairman of the PIE steering committee. The awards were divided into three categories -- small, for businesses or organizations with 1-15 employees or members; medium, 15-50 employees; and large, more than 50 employees or members.

Bonfire Tortillas, which was nominated by Wayne School of Engineering, received the award in the small category. First Christian Church, nominated by Edgewood Community Developmental School, was selected in the medium partner category. Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. Epsilon Phi Omega Chapter, nominated by North Drive Elementary, was recognized in the large partner category.

Two other new volunteers were also recognized for support efforts.

Olivia Pierce, executive director for information/technology services, said she received a call last spring from Women of Joy from Bethel Church, expressing an interest in providing refreshments for the staff at every school in the district.

She also lauded efforts of Caring Friends Mentors, formed this year to provide mentors and tutoring primarily at central attendance area schools.

The list of 2011-12 school Volunteers of the Year includes: Eleanor Tart, Brogden Middle; James Alexander, Brogden Primary; Zella Taylor, Carver Heights Elementary; Nina Fields Jackson, Charles B. Aycock High; Estella Johnson, Dillard Middle; Amber Jenson, Eastern Wayne Elementary; Bobby Adams, Eastern Wayne High; Michael and Christie Wiggins, Eastern Wayne Middle; Will Edgerton, Edgewood Community Developmental School; Mark Lane, Fremont STARS Elementary; Peggy Howell, Goldsboro High; Emma Jean Scott, Grantham School; Melissa Rose Roberts, Greenwood Middle; Johnny Kornegay, Meadow Lane Elementary; Aaron Harrell, Mount Olive Middle; Charles Combs Jr., North Drive Elementary; Monatina Wells, Northeast Elementary; Kelli Veronee, Northwest Elementary; Leah Grimmer, Norwayne Middle; Terry Harris, Rosewood Elementary; Jennifer Hall, Rosewood High; Paul Marak, Rosewood Middle; Douglas R. Meyer, School Street Elementary; Chuck Crumpler, Southern Wayne High; Valerie Barwick, Spring Creek Elementary; Joey Janning, Spring Creek High; Cile Beaman, Tommy's Road Elementary; Rene Hall, Wayne Middle/High Academy; and Merri Lee Bailey, Wayne School of Engineering.