05/27/12 — Wayne Community College gives out annual awards

View Archive

Wayne Community College gives out annual awards

By From staff reports
Published in News on May 27, 2012 1:50 AM

Wayne Community College honored its outstanding students recently during annual recognition ceremonies.

Following are awards presented during the event.

*Student Government Association Club Awards were given to student clubs that excelled in participating in events and activities on and off campus, raising money and conducting service projects. Recipients of this year's awards included the Criminal Justice Club and Medical Assisting Students' Association, tied for first place; and Associate Degree Nursing I, second place.

*Ambassadors, an honorary group of students nominated by faculty and staff to represent the college at special events on campus and within the community, recognized for service included Candace Jones, J.D. Medlin, Karen Peralta, Kalin Moore and Tyler Newton.

*Selected to Who's Who Among Students at Wayne Community College for 2012 were Ivan Halley, Alma Islas, Kimberly Massey, Amy Kimbrough, Guillermo Martinez, Karen Peralta, Virgil Shaw, Mandisa Thompson, Christy Tierney and Kayla Wallace.

*All-USA/All-State Community College Academic Team members Robin Rios, practical nursing, and Alex Breindel, associate in arts and associate in science.

*Bobby Jones, automotive systems-GM ASEP, cooperative education student of the year.

*Finalists for Dallas Herring Achievement Award: Raquel Baldwin, Allison Boone, Harold Clay Jr. and Candace Jones. Ms. Jones was the winner of the college's award and thus became its nominee for this award at the state level.

*Honors Program Awards: Lyndsey Dean, Karly Derwitz, Jori Fafoulas, Catie Fairchild, Whitney Frederick, Erica Gowan, Ashlyn Hall, Robert Johnson, Brinson Mitchell, Alyssa Turnage andCarianne Winders

*WCC Math Contest Awards: Jian Yang Lu, first place; Karina Skrypnyk, second; Joshua Kernodle, third; and Mary Lu Bartolon, fourth.

*Outstanding Student Curriculum Awards: Marvin Alexander, Jose Basa, Tina Benton, Arielle Bowman, David Jason Brogden, Robin Capps, Chris Chiofalo, Christopher David Coerver, Gena Dawson, Erik Dolson, Brandyn Espinoza, Marcus A. Estremera, Isabelle Flock, Francisco Fuentes, Jose Garcia, Brent Ginn, Thomas Hamilton, Whitney Hartley, Jordan Knowles, Rebecca Kuehne, Rebekah Lee, Aaron Long, Samuel Miller, Crystal Murray, Nichole Ouellet, Steven Provencal, Paul J. Richards, April Sasser, Nicholas Simmons,Jessica Simpson, Mareyanne Nicole Springer, Steven Blake Thompson, James Walker, Christopher Ward, John Woodson andKetrina Wheeler.

*Career Readiness Certificate Platinum Awards: Samantha Albertson, Nicholas Baker, Michael Everett, Jordan Furgeson, Joseph Gorum, Milton Herring, Robert Hill, Joseph Hodge, Alexei Luna, Matthew Mandeville, Gabrielle Morales, Berjoe Occena, Dallas Price, Tracy Schmeltzer, Crystal Smith, Marva Spells, John Stedman, Andrew Swedenburg and Angela Wall.