06/17/12 — Wayne Public Schools teachers of year announced

View Archive

Wayne Public Schools teachers of year announced

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on June 17, 2012 1:50 AM

Thirty-one exemplary educators from Wayne County Public Schools have been named "Teacher of the Year" at their respective schools, officials announced last week.

The recipients will now prepare to compete for the districtwide honor, which will be announced in the fall.

Each school's Teacher of the Year was nominated by their peers and is outstanding in the teaching profession, said Dr. Steven Taylor, superintendent of schools.

"These 31 teachers were selected because of their commitment to education and their dedication to helping students find success at school and in life," he said. "We wish all of them the very best in the next round of the Teacher of the Year competition."

The 2012-2013 Teachers of the Year for each school are:

Brogden Middle, Antoinette Hetrick; Brogden Primary, Randi Fleming; Carver Elementary, Ann Atwood; Carver Heights Elementary, Donna Countryman; Charles B. Aycock High, Jay Westbrook; Dillard Middle, Victoria Ruffin; Eastern Wayne Elementary, Martha Alemdar; Eastern Wayne High, Michael Daughtry; Eastern Wayne Middle, Robin Morton; Edgewood Community Developmental School, Lori Thomas; Fremont STARS Elementary, Ella Setliff; Goldsboro High, Maguy Yancey; Grantham School, Glenda Crocker; Greenwood Middle, Veronica Smith; Meadow Lane Elementary, Kim Hicks; Mount Olive Middle, Todd Slater; North Drive Elementary, Rita Vaughn; Northeast Elementary, Rebecca Wychunas; Northwest Elementary, Hope Paugh; Norwayne Middle, Sandra Brannan; Rosewood Elementary, Dororthy Faulcon; Rosewood High, Lindsay Kornegay; Rosewood Middle, LaJeannea Hietpas; School Street Elementary, Angeline Hobbs; Southern Wayne High, Crystal Whitfield; Spring Creek Elementary, Robin DeVeaux; Spring Creek High, Mike Jones; Tommy's Road Elementary, Jean Gardner; Wayne Academy, Marketa Hargrove; Wayne Early/Middle College High, Kim McArthur Dudley; and Wayne School of Engineering, Leah Watkins.

For the next round of the competition, each candidate will complete a portfolio that will be submitted to the WCPS Teacher of the Year selection committee. The committee will review the information and conduct interviews of all the candidates in August. Then, the field will be narrowed to three finalists -- one each from the elementary, middle and high school level.

The district Teacher of the Year will be selected from the finalists and announced in August at the annual Teacher of the Year Banquet.