06/27/12 — One-stop early voting begins

View Archive

One-stop early voting begins

By From staff reports
Published in News on June 27, 2012 1:46 PM

One-stop early voting for the July 17 primary starts Thursday at 8 a.m. and continues through July 14 at the Wayne County Board of Elections office, 209 S. William St.

Dates and times for one-stop voting are:

* June 28-29, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

* July 2-3, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

* July 5-6,8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

* July 9-13, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

* July 14, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Also, the last day to request an absentee ballot by mail is by 5 p.m. on July 10. The request must be in writing and submitted to the Board of Elections' office. The completed ballot must be returned to the Board of Elections' office by 5 p.m. on July 16.

Polls will be open countywide from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. on Election Day. The primary also will serve as Goldsboro's general election when voters will select a new board and mayor. The races are nonpartisan.

Mayor Al King is being challenged by Henry Jinnette and four of the six district board seats are contested.

District 1 Councilman Michael Headen is facing Kyle Pritchard, and District 4 Councilman Rev. Charles Williams is challenged by Clark Tondalayo

Former councilman William Goodman and Ben Farlow are vying for the District 3 seat, and Fran Kasey and Gene Aycock are seeking the District 6 seat.

Bill Broadaway is unopposed in District 2, as is Councilman and Mayor Pro-Tem Chuck Allen in District 5.

Unaffiliated voters who voted Democratic in the June primary, may only vote Democratic in the primary. Unaffiliated voters who voted Republican in the first primary, may only vote Republican.

Unaffiliated voters who voted unaffiliated in the June primary, may not vote in the second primary. However, unaffiliated voters who did not vote in the first primary, may vote their choice of ballot.

Also on the ballot are four Republican and one Democratic statewide races:

* Lieutenant governor: Dan Forest, Tony Gurley

* Commissioner of insurance: Richard Morgan, Mike Causey

* Secretary of state: Kenn Gardner, Ed Goodwin

* Superintendent of public instruction: John Tedesco, Richard Alexander.

The lone Democratic primary is for Commissioner of Labor between Marlowe Foster and John C. Brooks.