07/03/12 — One-stop voting continues through July 14

View Archive

One-stop voting continues through July 14

By Steve Herring
Published in News on July 3, 2012 1:46 PM

The first two days of one-stop early voting last week attracted 157 voters -- 98 on Thursday and 59 on Friday -- in advance of the July 17 second primary.

The primary will serve as Goldsboro's general election, and voters will select a new board and elect a mayor in nonpartisan races. Also on the ballot are one Democratic and four Republican statewide races.

Of the 159 votes cast through Friday, 132 were for the municipal election postponed from last November because of redistricting.

Two voters from the Phase 11 area of the city who cast ballots during one-stop voted in the municipal elections ahead of their areas being deannexed from the city July 1. No longer city residents, voters in that area are not permitted to vote in the municipal elections after June 30.

One-stop voting continues through July 14 at the Wayne County Board of Elections office, 209 S. William St.

The dates are today, Thursday and Friday and July 9-13, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and July 14, from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Next Tuesday at 5 p.m. is the last day to request an absentee ballot by mail. The request must be in writing and submitted to the Board of Elections' office. The completed ballot must be returned to the Board of Elections office by 5 p.m. July 16.

Polls will be open countywide from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. on Election Day -- Nov. 6.

Four of the six district board seats are contested, and Mayor Al King is being challenged by Henry Jinnette.

District 1 Councilman Michael Headen is facing Kyle Pritchard, and District 4 Councilman the Rev. Charles Williams is challenged by Clark Tondalayo.

Former councilman William Goodman and Ben Farlow are vying for the District 3 seat, and Fran Kasey and Gene Aycock are seeking the District 6 seat.

Bill Broadaway is unopposed in District 2, as is Councilman and Mayor Pro Tempore Chuck Allen in District 5.

Unaffiliated voters who voted Democratic in the June primary, may only vote Democratic, while unaffiliated voters who voted Republican in the first primary, may only vote Republican.

Unaffiliated voters who voted unaffiliated in the June primary may not vote in the party primaries, but may vote in the municipal elections. Unaffiliated voters who did not vote in the first primary may vote their choice of primary ballot as well.

Sample ballots are available for viewing online at the Board of Elections' website. Go to waynegov.com and under Dept (A-H) select Board of Elections. On the left-hand side of the page select 2012 Election Information to go to the link to the sample ballots.