10/15/12 — One-stop voting to start

View Archive

One-stop voting to start

By Steve Herring
Published in News on October 15, 2012 1:46 PM

One-stop voting for the Nov. 6 general election begins Thursday and will continue through Saturday, Nov. 3. It also includes Sunday, Oct. 28.

The hours will be from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. on weekdays and on Saturday, Oct. 27, and Nov. 3 from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the Wayne County Public Library, 1001 E. Ash St.; First Congregational Church, 215 Sleepy Creek Road, Dudley; and Woodmen of the World Lodge 3733, U.S. 117 North, Goldsboro.

Sunday's hours will be 1 to 5 p.m.

Two satellite locations, Fremont Town Hall and Johnston Ambulance Service on U.S. 70 West, will be open during the final week of one stop voting, Oct. 29 through Nov. 3.

Voters will cast ballots for offices from the county courthouse to the White House.

On the county level, District 1 Commissioner Republican Ray Mayo of Pikeville, District 3 Commissioner Democrat John Bell of Goldsboro and District 4 Commissioner Republican Steve Keen of Goldsboro are unopposed.

At-large Commissioner Democrat Sandra McCullen of Dudley is being challenged by Republican Wayne Aycock of Pikeville; District 2 Commissioner Democrat J.D. Evans is facing Republican Kenny Talton of Mount Olive; District 5 Commissioner Democrat Bud Gray of the LaGrange community is being challenged by Republican Bill Pate of Pikeville; and Commissioner Democrat Jack Best is facing Republican Joe Daughtery of Goldsboro.

In the non-partisan school board race, at-large member Eddie Radford of Goldsboro faces a challenge from current District 2 board member Len Henderson of Dudley.

Two Dudley residents, Dwight Cannon and Ven Faulk are vying for the District 2 seat.

In District 3, incumbent Thelma Smith faces a challenge from Charles Wright Sr.

Thomas Uzzell is unopposed as soil and water conservation supervisor.

Lois Mooring is unopposed in her re-election bid to the office of Register of Deeds.

Also unopposed are District Court judges David Brantley of Goldsboro, Timothy Finan of Goldsboro, Charles Gaylor of Goldsboro and Les Turner of Pink Hill.

Judge Lonnie Carraway of Walstonburg is challenged by Ericka James of Pikeville.

On the state level, House District 4 Republican Rep. Jimmy Dixon of Warsaw is in a three-way race with Democrat Rebecca Judge of Beulaville and Libertarian Kevin Hayes of Goldsboro.

Democrat James Hardison of Kinston and John Bell of Goldsboro are vying for the District 10 state House seat.

State Democratic Rep. Larry Bell of Clinton is unopposed in District 21.

District 7 Sen. Louis M. Pate Jr. of Mount Olive is unopposed.

Former District 5 senator Don Davis of Snow Hill, a Democrat, is unopposed in his campaign to reclaim that seat.

On the national level, District 1 Congressman G.K. Butterfield, a Democrat, of Wilson is in a three-way race with Republican Pete DiLauro of Weldon and Libertarian Darryl Holloman of Goldsboro.

Democrat Charles Malone and Republican George Holding, both of Raleigh, are vying for the House District 13 seat.

Sample ballots can be downloaded from the Wayne County Board of Elections website. Go to waynegov.com, go to Dept (A-H), click on Board of Elections and then 2012 Election Information. The link to the ballots is located on the bottom center of the page.