11/21/12 — Two from Wayne County Public Schools honored by state group

View Archive

Two from Wayne County Public Schools honored by state group

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on November 21, 2012 1:46 PM

Full Size

Steven Taylor

Full Size

Evon Waters

The Wayne County Public Schools superintendent and an administrative assistant in the district were recognized by the N.C. Association of Educational Office Professionals District 12 during its annual meeting recently in Jacksonville.

Dr. Steven Taylor, superintendent, was awarded the Katrina V. Miller Administrator of the Year Award and Evon Waters, who works at North Drive Elementary School, was named Office Professional of the Year.

"Dr. Taylor supports the Wayne County Association of Educational Office Professionals with an open door policy," said Katrina Reynolds, president of the local organization. "Dr. Taylor has been an active member of the WCAEOP and NCAEOP well over 10 years.

"In spite of some budget cuts our system has encountered, Dr. Taylor has maintained a budget for WCAEOP to continue to be active in district meetings, PSP workshops and our annual conference."

Ms. Reynolds also credited the superintendent with providing professional development opportunities and supporting the organization by attending meetings and encouraging membership.

Taylor was awarded the Wayne County Educational Office Professionals Administrator of the Year award in May.

Ms. Waters, a member of the WCAEOP for 15 years, was also recognized with the Wayne County Educational Office Professional of the Year Award in May.

"Her involvement with WCAEOP has been a framework of opportunities," Ms. Reynolds said. "She has served as interim president, president for two years, chaired committees locally and on the district level, served as an officer, and now serves as an adviser and advocate for new members."

The NCAEOP has 14 regional districts across the state. Taylor and Ms. Waters will next compete against regional winners for the state title in their categories, which will be announced at the state conference next spring.