05/12/13 — Nurses pinned at Wayne Community College

View Archive

Nurses pinned at Wayne Community College

By From staff reports
Published in News on May 12, 2013 1:50 AM

Wayne Community College recognized the 36 members of this year's Associate Degree Nursing class in a formal pinning ceremony recently.

The annual service, which includes presentation of nursing pins and nurse's creed scrolls by the faculty of the program, lighting of lamps (symbolic of Florence Nightingale going into the battlefield with a lantern) and recitation of the "Florence Nightingale Pledge," denotes the end of the graduates' academic journey and welcomes them into the profession.

The pin used in the ceremony was designed and used by the first graduates of the program in 1973 and uniquely represents WCC's nursing school. It symbolically welcomes the graduates into the nursing profession.

This year's graduates are Windy Albright Amory, Nicole Marie Aycock, Kayla Frances Ballou, Desiree Elizabeth Billings, Summer Christian Blackman, Brittany Leigh Brown, Adam Keith Combs, Tyani Raelin Cordeiro, Theresa Deans Crenshaw, Lynsie Denise Deans, Dennis Eric Doering, Melissa Anne Gooden, Hanna Kaylen Hall, Dorisa Lynn Hamilton, Hailey Stroud Head, Donna Kathleen Rose Herring, Michael Henry Hill, Jennifer Anne Hope, Nicholas Joseph Jack, Tiffany Worthington Johnson, Brandy Mozingo Keith, Elise Anne Kennedy, Amy Lynch Kimbrough, Jessica Kaye Klinkicht, Stacy Minshew Lamm, Kimberly Morgan Lane, Jennifer Elaine McDonough, Theresa Anne McNamara, Amanda Renee Morris, Hollie Brenn Outlaw, Karmel Ann Phillips, Lauren Elizabeth Powers, Marva Genine Rogers, Teagan Marie Ross, Angelica Ann Sellers, and Amber Lynn Whitfield.

Three awards were also presented to outstanding graduates.

Ms. Cordeiro received the Theoretical Excellence Award for high academic standards. In addition to maintaining the class' highest overall grade point average, she "always looks for opportunities to learn and is a great team player," said Sue Beaman, chair of the Nursing Department, calling her "a very dedicated and professional student and served as a class officer."

Ms. Hope earned the Clinical Excellence Award for achieving high standards in the clinical component of the curriculum. Mrs. Beaman said patients and families often commented on her positive and caring attitude, and credited her with having a commitment to nursing.

Ms. Brown received the Outstanding Student Award for the individual who has achieved high standards in both the theoretical and clinical components of the program, and is active in class and professional activities.

"You can always count on [her] to be excited about clinical experiences and always seek out the best possible care for her patients," said Mrs. Beaman.

The winners received plaques and scholarships provided by the Foundation of Wayne Community College.