06/16/13 — Wayne County Schools announces individual teachers of year

View Archive

Wayne County Schools announces individual teachers of year

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on June 16, 2013 1:50 AM

Wayne County Public Schools has announced its individual 2013-14 Teachers of the Year for each of the 31 schools.

The honorees will now prepare to compete for the districtwide honor, which will be announced after the start of school in August.

"These teachers demonstrate the highest qualities, standards and commitment to the education of the students," said Dr. Steven Taylor, superintendent. "We congratulate all of the school-level Teachers of the Year and wish them the very best in the next found of the competition."

Each candidate will now complete a portfolio that will be submitted to the WCPS Teacher of the Year selection committee. The judges will review the information and conduct interviews with each educator in late summer. At that point, the field will be narrowed to three finalists, one each representing the elementary, middle and high school levels.

At the annual Teacher of the Year banquet, the county's winner will be named.

The 2013-14 Teachers of the Year and their respective schools include:

*Brogden Middle: Danya Cowan

*Brogden Primary: Patricia Crow

*Carver Elementary: Melissa O'Neal

*Carver Heights Elementary: Charlie Davis

*Charles B. Aycock High: Rachel Hagwood

*Dillard Middle: Dante Johnson

*Eastern Wayne Elementary: Michele Arnold

*Eastern Wayne High: Chris Merritt

*Easter Wayne Middle: Stephanie Davis

*Edgewood Community Developmental School: Scott Littleton

*Fremont STARS Elementary: Joseph Durham

*Goldsboro High: Janet Krueger

*Grantham School: Elizabeth McDaniel

*Greenwood Middle: Gina Rikard

*Meadow Lane Elementary: Kristi Luckenbaugh

*Mount Olive Middle: Tondalayo Clark

*North Drive Elementary: Rhea Tan

*Northeast Elementary: Stacey Kestler Robinson

*Northwest Elementary: Hollis Lewis

*Norwayne Middle: Valerie Ruhl

*Rosewood Elementary: Sadie Simmons

*Rosewood High: Sara McLamb

*Rosewood Middle: Lisa West

*School Street Elementary: Yivecka Hines

*Southern Wayne High: Joni Darden

*Spring Creek Elementary: Delores Langston

*Spring Creek High: Kellie Davis

*Tommy's Road Elementary: Christine Mitchell

*Wayne Academy: Connie Oliver

*Wayne Early/Middle College High: Kaye Mooring

*Wayne School of Engineering: Jesse Pittard