07/11/13 — More file for ballot spots

View Archive

More file for ballot spots

By Steve Herring
Published in News on July 11, 2013 1:46 PM


Most of the candidates who filed through Wednesday for elected office in Wayne County are seeking seats on the county's sanitary district boards. However, filings on Wednesday created one race for the Mount Olive Town Board and set the stage for possibly a second contest.

Jerry C. Armstrong filed for the Mount Olive District 2 seat now held by Hosea Manley, who filed for re-election last Friday.

Former town commissioner Jessie Jack Faison filed for the District 1 seat, which is now held by Kenny Talton.

Talton and District 3 Commissioner George Fulghum have yet to file. However, both have indicated they plan to do so.

Mount Olive board members serve two-year terms.

In the only other municipal filing, Walnut Creek Village Council member Daniel Arthur Jackson of Goldsboro is seeking a return to office. It is a four-year term.

Filing this week for election to four-year terms on the sanitary district boards were:

* Belfast-Patetown: Fred Junior Newcomb, Ben Casey, and Ray Sullivan, all of Goldsboro, Joe A. Brown of Fremont, and Landis H. Davis of Stantonsburg, all of whom are incumbents

* Eastern Wayne: James Allen Sutton Jr. of LaGrange, an incumbent, and Linda Harper of Goldsboro and Glenwood Spence of LaGrange

* Fork Township: Henry Braswell of Goldsboro, an incumbent, and Danny F. Hope of Goldsboro

* Southeastern Wayne: Charlie Holloway of Mount Olive, an incumbent

* Southern Wayne: Gary Michael Scott of Goldsboro and Sally Rawls Bowles of Dudley, both incumbents.

The filing period opened last Friday at noon and will end Friday, July 19 at noon.

Pikeville, Eureka, and Seven Springs also have municipal elections this November.