07/21/13 — Filing period for municipal races ends

View Archive

Filing period for municipal races ends

By Steve Herring
Published in News on July 21, 2013 1:50 AM

Races have developed for four of the five Mount Olive Town Board seats up for election in November while a lack of candidates in Eureka and Seven Springs means those offices will be filled by write-in votes.

The filing period that opened at noon on July 5 ended at noon Friday for the non-partisan municipal and sanitary district elections to be held Nov. 5.

Challengers in two of the Mount Olive races previously served on the board, and a third is a former unsuccessful candidate.

District 1 Commissioner Kenny Talton has opposition from former commissioner Jesse Jack Faison, while District 4 Commissioner Gene Lee will face former board member Joe Scott.

District 2 Commissioner Hosea Manley is being challenged by Jerry Armstrong Sr. who ran, but was not elected, in 2003.

At-large Commissioner Ray Thompson is facing a challenge from newcomer Sadie L. Raine.

Mayor Ray McDonald Sr. is unchallenged in his re-election bid as is District 3 Commissioner George Fulghum. The terms are for two years.

In Pikeville, Town Commissioner Todd Anderson filed for the mayoral seat now held by Johnny Weaver, who did not seek re-election.

Three people have filed for the three board seats including incumbent Commissioner Ward Kellum. Also filing were Garrett Johnston and Eric Snoddy.

The terms are for four years.

Three people have filed for the two seats on the Walnut Creek Village Council including incumbent Danny Jackson. Also filing were Steven D. "Pete" Benton and Mike Day.

The mayor, currently Darrell Horne, is selected by the council.

The terms are for four years.

In Eureka, no one filed for the mayor's office now held by John Douglas Booth or the two board seats held by Williams Martin and Leroy Wellington.

There were no candidates in Seven Springs for the mayor's office held by Alan Cash and two board seats held by Lisa Cash and Karen Mozingo.

The mayor servers a two-year term and board members four years.

Filing for four-year terms on the sanitary water district boards were:

* Belfast-Patetown (five seats): Dawn Anderson of Pikeville; Joe A. Brown (incumbent) of Fremont; Ben Casey (incumbent) of Goldsboro; Landis H. Davis (incumbent) of Stantonsburg; Janice Grant of Goldsboro; Fred J. Newcomb (incumbent) of Goldsboro; and Ray Sullivan (incumbent) of Goldsboro

* Eastern Wayne (five seats): Daryl Anderson (incumbent) of LaGrange; Richard "Ricky" Carraway of LaGrange; Pattie Price Daly of Goldsboro; Linda Harper of Goldsboro; Carl Mozingo (incumbent) of LaGrange; Jonathan Carl Mozingo of Goldsboro; Glenwood Spence of LaGrange; James Allen Sutton Jr. (incumbent) of LaGrange; and Erwin Watts of Goldsboro

* Fork Township (three seats): Henry Braswell (incumbent) of Goldsboro; Tim Gardner of Goldsboro; Marsha Green of Goldsboro; Joseph Lee Hackett of Goldsboro; Danny F. Hope of Goldsboro; and Justin Revels of Goldsboro

* Southeastern Wayne (five seats): Jim Barnwell of Dudley; Sam Casey (incumbent) of Dudley; Charlie M.B. Holloway (incumbent) of Mount Olive; Bobby Outlaw (incumbent) of Dudley; James Taylor (incumbent) of Dudley; and Albert Williams Jr. of Dudley

* Southern Wayne (two seats): Sally Rawls Bowles (incumbent) of Dudley; Danny Edwards of Goldsboro; Jesse Jernigan of Dudley; Charles McLendon of Dudley; and Gary Scott (incumbent) of Goldsboro.