08/06/13 — Grain farmers to vote Wednesday

View Archive

Grain farmers to vote Wednesday

By From staff reports
Published in News on August 6, 2013 1:46 PM

Small grain farmers across the state will vote Wednesday on whether or not to continue an assessment on seven types of small grain.

The assessment would be for one-half of 1 percent for a six-year period on wheat, rye, oats, barley, rape seed/canola and grain sorghum.

The assessment period will begin on Jan. 1, 2014, and will continue until Dec. 31, 2019.

The North Carolina Board of Agriculture approved the North Carolina Small Grain Growers Association's request for the referendum at its Feb. 26 meeting.

All North Carolina farmers, over the age of 18 as of Wednesday, and who grow small grain are eligible to vote during regular business hours of their local county office Extension Service office.

The Wayne County office is located in the Wayne Center, 208 W. Chestnut St. The telephone number is 919-731-1521.