08/18/13 — Duplin board sworn in

View Archive

Duplin board sworn in

By From staff reports
Published in News on August 18, 2013 1:50 AM

KENANSVILLE -- The new Duplin County Board of Elections was recently sworn in and met to reorganize.

Republican Derl Walker of the Mount Olive area was elected chairman of the board. The other two board members are Republican Linwood Sanders of the Beulaville area and Angela Mainor, a Democrat, of Warsaw.

Board members are appointed for two-year terms by the state Board of Elections. Under state law, the majority of the board is made up of members of the party of the current governor.

The board voted to change the Faison precinct voting place from the Faison Recreation and Wellness Center to Faison Presbyterian Church and residents of Teachey were approved to vote at their town hall instead of a polling place in Wallace.

The board also agreed to allow Duplin residents living within the town limits of Mount Olive to vote in Mount Olive.