08/28/13 — Keen elected to serve on state commissioners association board

View Archive

Keen elected to serve on state commissioners association board

By From staff reports
Published in News on August 28, 2013 1:46 PM

Wayne County Commission Chairman Steve Keen has been elected to a two-year term on the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners board of directors.

Keen, who was elected during the Association's 106th annual conference held Aug. 22-25 in Guilford County, will serve as the District 3 director. The district includes Wayne, Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, Onslow and Pamlico counties.

Keen has been active with the Association since becoming a Wayne County commissioner in 2008.

He served as the vice chairman of its Health and Human Services Steering Committee in 2012-13. He was appointed to the Veterans Outreach and Services Task Force in 2010-11.

His public service has included serving on the Military Affairs Commission, Wayne County Utilities Commission, president of the Eastern Carolina Council of Governments, the Eastern Carolina Rural Planning Organization, the Blue Ribbon Commission of Transitions to Community Living, the Wayne County Department of Social Services Board and the Wayne County Planning Board.

He also serves on the state Environmental Management Commission.

"Working together as a district is critical to creating a successful and prosperous future," Keen said. "Serving the needs of regional constituents, planning for future growth, and creating jobs continue to be our focus.

"By collaborating with all the other districts in this great state, we will accomplish our goal to improve the quality of life and natural resources in District 3 where businesses thrive and families want to live."

The North Carolina Association of County Commissioners is the official voice of the state's 100 counties on issues being considered by the General Assembly and state and federal agencies.

Its board meets several times throughout the year to develop statewide policy goals in such areas as taxation, agriculture, environment, criminal justice, human resources and public education.