02/05/14 — Director of Partnership for Children of Wayne County chosen for state honor

View Archive

Director of Partnership for Children of Wayne County chosen for state honor

By Staff Reports
Published in News on February 5, 2014 1:46 PM

Charles Ivey, executive director of The Partnership for Children of Wayne County, has been chosen one of 12 early childhood leaders to participate in a statewide program.

The Leaders Collaborative prepares local executive directors in Partnerships for Children to improve the odds for young children and families in their communities as well as the state.

The leadership development program, funded by the Race to the Top Early Learning Challenge grant, provides training on how to engage local communities in identifying strategies for: improving program quality and outcomes for children; increasing the number of children with high needs participating in high-quality learning and development programs; and helping to close the achievement gap between children with high needs and their peers by supporting efforts to increase kindergarten readiness.

Joe Setzer, chairman of Wayne County's Partnership board of directors, credited Ivey with being a good fit for the program.

"Charlies has a tremendous amount of leadership experience and is eager to gain additional strategies to work in our program and county," he said. "The board is proud of his selection to the Leaders Collaborative and support his efforts to improve not only his leadership skills, but the ability to serve the young children in our community."

Ivey came to his current post in July 2011, after having served on its board of directors for four years. He retired as principal of Spring Creek Elementary School in 2011 after 23 years in the role, and was with Wayne County Public Schools a total of 35 years. In addition to serving as Executive Director of the Partnership, Ivey serves on the Wayne Education Network Board with the Wayne County Chamber of Commerce and chairs the Partners in Education Committee of the Wayne County Public Schools.

Others chosen to the Smart Start Leaders Collaborative include Joe Castro of Transylvania County, Carolyn Choplin of Yadkin County, Stacey Henderson of Hertford-Northampton Counties, Deborah Musika of Montgomery County, Susan Nixon of Chowan-Perquimans Counties, Kay Philip of Ashe County, Mary Ann Rasberry of Union County, Mary Beth Scebold of Davie County, Jean Squier of Hoke County, Carrie Theall of Alamance County and Cindy Watkins ofGuilford County.