02/11/14 — Nine file for spots on May primary ballot

View Archive

Nine file for spots on May primary ballot

By Steve Herring
Published in News on February 11, 2014 1:46 PM

Nine candidates filed Monday at the Wayne County Board of Elections office during the first day of the filing period for the May 6 primary.

Filing continues until noon on Feb. 28.

Larry Pierce of Goldsboro, who was appointed sheriff by Wayne County commissioners last week following the death of Sheriff Carey Winders, filed for the office.

Pierce is a Republican.

Filing as a Democratic candidate for sheriff was Glenn E. Barnes of Goldsboro.

Two Republican members of the county's legislative delegation filed for re-election.

Sen. Louis Pate Jr. of Mount Olive is seeking another term in the District 7 seat and Rep. John R. Bell of Goldsboro is seeking his second term in House District 10.

Democratic Sen. Don Davis of Snow Hill filed in Greene County for re-election in District 5, which includes a portion of Wayne County.

Republican Rep. Jimmy Dixon of Calypso filed in Duplin County for reelection in House District 4, which includes a portion of Wayne County.

Three people, including a newcomer, filed in the nonpartisan Board of Education election.

Incumbent District 1 member Chris West of Pikeville and District 5 member Arnold Flowers are seeking new terms.

Newcomer Jennifer Smith Strickland of Goldsboro filed for the District 4 seat now held by John Grantham of the Grantham community.

Also filing for reelection Monday were Clerk of Superior Court Pam Minshew and Register of Deeds Lois Mooring. Both are Democrats

District 2 Commissioner Ed Cromartie of Mount Olive filed for election to the office.

A Democrat, Cromartie is completing the first two years of the four-year unexpired term of the late J.D. Evans.

Evans won re-election in November 2012 and was sworn into office, but died before the new board took over. Cromartie was nominated by the Wayne County Democratic Party to fill the first two years of Evans' term and was unanimously appointed by commissioners.

State law requires that the final two years must be decided by an election.

Cromartie's seat is the only commission office up for election this year.