02/17/14 — Candidates file for election

View Archive

Candidates file for election

By Steve Herring
Published in News on February 17, 2014 1:46 PM

Full Size


The doorway to the Wayne County Board of Elections is seen early today. The state has decided not to extend the filing period after a winter storm forced its closing for several days last week.

The filing period for the May 6 primary cannot be extended to make up for the time lost because of closings as result of last week's winter weather, said Veronica DeGraffenreid, election preparation and support manager for the N.C. Board of Elections.

"North Carolina's statewide primary and general election candidate filing period lasts for three weeks, and candidates are permitted to file by mail," she said. "Further, time will be needed to prepare the absentee ballots for the May primary.

"Under state law, absentee voting by mail begins on March 17 -- only two weeks after the candidate filing period ends."

The filing period will end at noon on Feb. 28.

Nine people filed at the Wayne County Board of Elections office on opening day last Monday. However, the office closed early Tuesday because of the snow and ice and remained closed through Thursday.

However, primaries already have been assured for one local office.

Wayne County School Board Chairman John Grantham of Grantham filed Friday for re-election to the District 4 seat. Jennifer Smith Strickland of Goldsboro filed for that seat on Monday.

District 1 school board member Chris West of Pikeville has filed for re-election.

The school board election is nonpartisan.

Matt Delbridge, Republican, of Goldsboro, and Terry Light, Democrat, of Goldsboro, both filed for district attorney for the 8th Judicial District

First District Congressman G.K. Butterfield, Democrat, of Wilson filed for re-election.

Democrat Brenda Cleary of Cary filed for the 13th District Congressional office currently held by Republican George Holding of Raleigh.

Three Republicans have filed for the U.S. Senate seat now held by Democrat Kay Hagan of Greensboro.

They are Heather Grant of Wilkesboro, Mark Harris of Raleigh, and Ted Alexander of Shelby.

State judicial filings include:

Supreme Court chief justice (Sarah Parker seat): Mark Martin of Apex

Supreme Court associate justice (Mark D. Martin seat): Bob Hunter of Raleigh

Court of Appeals (Bob Hunter seat): Lucy Inman of Raleigh

Court of Appeals (Donna Stroud seat): Donna S. Stroud of Garner

Court of Appeals (Mark Davis seat): Mark Davis of Raleigh, and Paul Holcombe of Clayton.