03/25/14 — All-County Band Festival to be held Thursday

View Archive

All-County Band Festival to be held Thursday

By From staff reports
Published in News on March 25, 2014 1:46 PM

More than 110 band students from 15 middle and high schools will showcase their instrumental talents on Thursday, as Wayne County Public Schools' annual All-County Band Festival is held at Dillard Middle School at 7 p.m.

Accomplished professionals are brought in to work with the students in preparation for the free concert, and serve as guest conductors for the event.

The annual event provides a great enrichment opportunity for participating students, Dr. Steven Taylor, superintendent, said.

"The district appreciates all of the hard work and preparation that goes into this event each year by our band teachers, guest clinicians and all of the band members," he said. "The participating students have spent countless hours working to master the various musical selections. Audience members can expect a great show."

Two guest conductors will direct the middle and high school bands. Rebecka Thompson Mercer, band director at Clayton Middle School, is directing the middle school group, while Jennier Walter, an associate professor of music education at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, is leading the high school band students.

Meanwhile, local band directors have spent weeks readying their students for this event. These include Jerome Powers of Brogden Middle; Michael Palmer of Charles B. Aycock High; Shannon Stokes of Dillard Middle; Janet Barnes of Eastern Wayne High; Daryl Richardson of Eastern Wayne Middle; Joshua Artis of Goldsboro High; Nicole Price of Grantham Middle; Jennifer Kirkland of Greenwood Middle; Cindy Grant of Mount Olive Middle; Paula Rodgers of Norwayne Middle; Melissa Riser of Rosewood hiddle and high schools; Cindy Grant of Southern Wayne High; Karen Peele of Spring Creek Middle; and Andrew Madlon of Spring Creek High.

Musical selections for this year include "Heroes of the Galaxy," "Of Castles and Kings," "Surge," "Plaza de Toros," "Creature Feature," "Rites of Tamburo," "Appalachian Morning," "Mister Joe," "St. Thomas" and "Mambo."

Board of Education member Rick Pridgen will be master of ceremonies.