02/22/04 — WCDS girls win CPIC tourney

View Archive

WCDS girls win CPIC tourney

By News-Argus Staff
Published in Sports on February 22, 2004 2:01 AM

HENDERSON -- Wayne Country Day's Louise Northington came up big in the final 15 seconds of the game as the Chargers defeated top-seeded Greenfield School 31-29 in the opening round of the Coastal Plain Independent Conference tournament at Kerr-Vance Academy.

Northington stole the ball and was fouled coming downcourt with 9.9 seconds to play in a 29-29 tie. She hit both of her free throws and the Charger defense did the rest to place them in the CPIC championship game against Kerr-Vance or Faith Christian of Rocky Mount Saturday night.

Carolyn Ziemer had a double-double with 10 points and 11 rebounds, while Hannah Granthan had nine boards and Northington had 10.

Paisley Suggs had 10 points for Greenfield.

WCDS 7 6 8 10 -- 31

Greenfield 8 12 3 6 -- 29


Carolyn Ziemer 10, Hannah Grantham 6, Christin Grubb 4, Louise Northington 7, Amanda Knutson 4.


Paisley Suggs 10, Sarah Peters 5, Anna Wooten-Goss 4, Mandy Moore 4, Deidra Harris 4, Brittney Spencer 2.

Charger boys fall to Knights

HENDERSON -- Greenfield School dumped a flat first eight minutes with an intense second half to down Wayne Country Day 62-58 Friday night at Kerr-Vance Academy to advance to the Coastal Plain Independent Conference tournament finals.

The Knights headed into halftime trailing 31-23 after a nine-point second quarter. Greenfield emerged a different team, juicing its defense and unleashing a 24-16 third quarter to pull even.

Austin Bass finished with 18 points and 12 rebounds. Errol Frails scored 17 points -- 16 in the second half -- and reeled in nine boards.

Third-seeded Wayne Country Day's Spencer Briggs gave Greenfield fits all night, scoring a game-high 28 points.

The second-seeded Knights face top-seeded Kerr-Vance tonight in the tournament championship.

WCDS 17 14 16 11 -- 58

Greenfield 14 9 24 15 -- 62


Spencer Briggs 28, Chris Exum 10, Shivar Pearson 7, Jeff Franklin 6, Kevin Logan 4, Alex Proimos 3.


Austin Bass 18, Errol Frails 17, David Lieber 9, Will Faber 8, Thorne Driver 4, Ian Blazek-Guinan 4, Tyler Jones 2.