05/23/04 — Aycock's Cobb takes third in 200 meters

View Archive

Aycock's Cobb takes third in 200 meters

By David Rouse
Published in Sports on May 23, 2004 2:01 AM

RALEIGH -- Charles B. Aycock's Keith Cobb emerged the county's top placer in the 83rd annual N.C. High School Athletic Association Class 3-A men's track and field championships contested Saturday at N.C. State.

Cobb earned a bronze medal in the 200-meter dash with a time of 22.33 seconds on the Paul Derr Track. Teammate Michael Scott claimed 14th overall in the 3,200 run with a time of 10 minutes, 58.3 seconds.

The Golden Falcons finished 11th in the 400 relay in 45.02.

Aycock's Amy Fryt ended up fifth overall in the pole vault with a distance of eight feet, six inches. Fryt vaulted 8-2 in last weekend's eastern regional at Wilson Fike.

Liza Davis claimed eighth in the 3,200 with a time of 12:40.83. Teammate Artralia Williams rounded out the Golden Falcons' day-long effort with a throw of 84 feet, 4 1/2 inches in the discus.

Eastern Wayne's Shelly Baker turned in the second-best performance among county competitors with a fourth-place showing in the 300 low hurdles. Baker won her heat and came back to clock 47.06 in the finals, which was won by Durham Hillside's Michelle Duffey.

The Warriors' 800 relay finished fifth overall in 1:47.62. The 400 and 1,600 relays concluded the day 12th and 13th, respectively, among some of the state's top sprinters and distance runners.

Senior Jamie Vogt collected a seventh-place time of 5:44.9 in the 1,600.

Long-distance teammates Matt Interrante and Michael Lawerence took seventh and eighth in their respective events. Interrante was seventh in the 3,200 with a time of 10:28.04. Lawerence's time was 4:44.92 in the 800.

Southern Wayne's Terrance Davis grabbed 11th in the shot put with a mark of 44-9 3/4.

Hillside won the girls' title, easily beating runner-up Hertford County 132-37. Ragsdale was third with 35 points, followed by Kernersville Glenn (32) and West Brunswick (29).

Greensboro Ben Smith emerged the boys' champion. Smith won the title in dramatic fashion on the final event. T.C. Roberson's Ollie Ehlinger won the 3,200 narrowing Smith's lead to 60-57. The Smith relay team held off Roberson in the 4x400 to seize the title, 70-65.