09/28/04 — Area coaches honored at NCHSAA meeting

View Archive

Area coaches honored at NCHSAA meeting

By David Williams
Published in Sports on September 28, 2004 1:56 PM

KENANSVILLE -- Several local and area coaches, teachers and educators were honored Monday at the N.C. High School Athletic Association's region 2 meeting at the Kenansville Auditorium.

Rosewood High School's Daniel Barrow was selected for the region's athletics director award. North Lenoir's Dexter Sims was selected for the principal's award, and Greene County superintendent Stephen Mazingo was named the recipient of the superintendent's award.

South Lenoir's Lisa Smith and New Bern's Chip Williams were selected for the female and male coaches awards. Cindy Pasey of the Pender Post was selected for the region's media award.

Region certificates were presented tgo school that went through the previous year without an ejection in any sport. North Duplin, Greene Central, North Lenoir, Southern Wayne and Charles B. Aycock were among the 18 schools recognized.

Greene Central was cited for being ejection free for four years in a row. The region's longest ejection-free streak is held by Midway High School -- seven years.

Region 2 consists of public high schools in Greene, Wayne, Sampson, Duplin, Lenoir, Craven, Jones, Onslow, Pender, Brunswick, New Hanover, Pamlico and Carteret Counties. 46 school are in the region.

Ten of the 12 area schools in the News-Argus family were represented by coache,s athletics directors, principals, school superintendents, county board staff and board of education members.

Included in those representing Wayne County was school superintendent Dr. Steven Taylor; assistant superintendent Sprunt Hill; Goldsboro High School princpial Pat Burden and athletics director Randy Jordan; Eastern Wayne High School principal Morris Kornegay and athletics director Robert Peele; Charles B. Aycock High School atheltics director Charles Davis; Southern Wayne principal Richard Sauls and athletics directors Bob Warren and David Lee; Spring Creek High School principal Steve Clingan and athletics director Roy Whitfield; and Rosewood High School principal Dottie Hobbs and Athletics Director Daniel Barrow.

Representing the surrounding counties were North Lenoir High School principal Dexter Simms and athletics director Wayne Barwick; Greene Central High School athletics director James "Rabbit" Fulghum and school superintendent Stephen Mazingo; North Duplin High School athletics director Ken Avent; and James Kenan High School athletics director Ronnie Batts.