11/24/05 — Local sports digest

View Archive

Local sports digest

Published in Sports on November 24, 2005 1:54 PM

Trio scores double figures for Warriors

WINTERVILLE -- Cody Kirkham and Dwight Ulmer led three Eastern Wayne players in double figures with 14 points apiece in a 71-67, overtime victory against South Central.

Darian Cahill added 13 points for the Warriors, who are 2-1 with both wins occurring in overtime.

Eastern Wayne (2-1) travels to Fike next Tuesday.

Williams records


PANTEGO -- Eric Williams collected a double-double -- 15 points, 17 rebounds -- in Wayne Christian's 53-25, non-conference win at Terra Ceia on Tuesday evening.

Williams also dished out four assists for the Eagles, who evened their overall worksheet to 2-2.

John Norris provided 11 points, six assists and five steals. Kyle Harrell added 10 points, while Colton Woods chipped in eight.

Wayne Christian (2-2) entertains Johnston Christian in a Class 1-A Carolina Christian Conference game next Monday. Tipoff is scheduled for 4:30 p.m. at Clifford Gymnasium.

JV girls

Eastern Wayne

remains unbeaten

Jazmine Middleton pumped in a team-high 13 points as unbeaten Eastern Wayne cruised past South Central 44-36.

Lindsey Frederick added 12 points for the Warriors, now 3-0 overall.

Eastern Wayne entertains Princeton next Tuesday. Tipoff is scheduled for 4:30 p.m.

CBA presents

fall awards

PIKEVILLE -- Charles B. Aycock, which took home three Class 3-A Eastern Carolina Conference titles in the fall, honored its fall sports athletes on Nov. 17.

* Girls Tennis -- ECC champions; regional champions; state runner-up

Raychel Batts (MVP); Nicole Taylor (Most Competitive); Lizzie Sodoma (Most Improved); Kristen Prosser (Most Consistent); Laine Purcell (Coaches Award); Carlyn Claiborne (Most Dedicated).

* Girls Golf -- ECC champions; regional runner-up

Kelli Forbis (Lowest Scoring Average.

* Boys Soccer (ECC regular season and tournament champions)

Bennett Jeffreys and Alex Rodriguez (Co-MVP's); Garrett Davis (Offensive Player of the Year); Jake Bunn (Defensive Player of the Year).

* Girls Cross Country

Rebekka Katko (MVP); Megan Hales (Coaches Award); Angel Keerbs (Most Improved); Jasmine Dobbin (Sportsmanship).

* Boys Cross Country

Alan Toler and Dalton Denning (Co-MVP's); Jesse Fryt (Most Improved); Daniel Pennington (Top Rookie).

* Volleyball

Jazzmine Lee (Hustle Award); Amy Fryt (Backline Award); Kandace Burroughs (Frontline Award); Christina Scarsella (Jane Tyndall Memorial Volleyball Award).

* JV Volleyball

Emily Jordan (Coaches Award); LeeAnn Sager (Most Consistent).

* JV Soccer

Alex Roosen and Drew Musselman (Co-MVP's).

* JV Tennis

Kara Kelly and Courtney Barnes (Outstanding Singles).

* JV Football

Michael King (Offensive Player of the Year); Kelton Lewis (Defensive Player of the Year).