12/12/06 — EPC All-Conference awards

View Archive

EPC All-Conference awards

By Rudy Coggins
Published in Sports on December 12, 2006 1:47 PM

SNOW HILL -- Five Goldsboro High football players received either first- or second-team All-Class 2-A Eastern Plains Conference honors, while Rhet Potter was named coach of the year in women's volleyball.

Hykeen Coley and Andrew Phifer earned first-team nods for the Cougars. Treme Boone, Tim Kornegay and Marcus Uzzell each grabbed a spot on the second team.

Farmville Central veteran Dixon Sauls picked up vasity coach of the year honors, while Tarboro High's Pat Miller was named JV coach of the year.

The Jaguars' Brandon Austin received offensive player of the year accolades. Greene Central's Brandon Sutton and Tarboro's Kirk Heffley tied for the defensive player of the year award.

Here is the team-by-team breakdown:

First team

Farmville Central -- Wesley Harkin, Kajon Farrow, Marquis Lawrence, Adrian Little, Antwon Foreman, Richard Williams. Greene Central -- Cameron Shelton, J.J. Thompson, Curtis Braswell, Tyrell Lane, Harrison Walston, William Brown. Tarboro High -- Saddarius Lewis, Phillip Whitaker, Quan Randolph, Barry McNeil, Adrian Dickens. North Lenoir -- Zack Carter, Kevin Hall, Cornelius Mills, Marquez Powell. North Pitt -- Jaron Vines, Antwon Swinson, Tony Turnage. Goldsboro High -- Hykeen Coley, Andrew Phifer.

Second team

Farmville Central -- Davaughn Gibbs, Kenyon Turen, Immanuel Cox. Greene Central -- Darrin Gorham, Reggie Sanders, Donny Moye. Tarboro High -- Sed Daniels, Nick Cannon. North Lenoir -- Terrance Harris, Andrew Manning, Matt Quinn, Nick Pender. North Pitt -- Antwan Williams, Donnie Carr, Travon Langley. Goldsboro High -- Treme Boone, Tim Kornegay, Marcus Uzzell.

And here are the remaining sports:

* Volleyball: Tarboro High -- Keosha Harrell, Shanoe Thorne. Greene Central -- Sarah Ribeiro, Brianna Stanton, Amber Morris. North Lenoir -- Lauren Hudson, Brittany Sanders, Kayla Sutton, Marissa Lanier. Farmville Central -- Lashonna Shannon (co-POY), Stephony Newkirk (co-POY), Brittany Talbot, Grace Roberson. North Pitt -- Stephanie Griffin, Yasmeen Hardy. Goldsboro -- Tiffany Burden.

* Women's tennis: Regular-season co-champions Greene Central and Tarboro High dominated the all-conference tennis awards.

Brittany Horton, Sarah Beth Carraway, Cally Hudson, Elizabeth McLawhorn, Samantha Taylor and Abby Sugg were chosen from the Rams. Representing the Vikings were Heather Phillips, Jasmine Burroughs, Alison Thompson, Miranda Spain, Gennelle Wilson and Brittany Sellers.

Horton was named player of the year, while league peers recognized Tarboro's Billy Strother as coach of the year.

* Men's soccer: Tarboro High -- Victor Arias (POY), Andrea Garcia, William Robinson, Silverio Santiago, Mizrum Ramirez, Israel Amanza. North Lenoir -- Tyler Smith, Dustin King, C.C. Croom, Bryce Grady, George Walters. Farmville Central -- Worth Williams, Sumil Varnani. Greene Central -- Juan Mendez, Jonathan Mendez, Jonathan Reyna, Hugo Treja. Coach of the Year -- Leshaun Jenkins, Tarboro High.

* Women's cross country: Farmville Central -- Chelsea Tyson (POY), Britney Stanford, Caitlin Loftin, Gwynn O'Leary, Marion Johnson, Candace Jones, Lindsey Robbins. Goldsboro High -- Danielle Irby. Greene Central -- Ashley Oakes. Tarboro -- Ericka Mack. Coach of the Year -- Patrick Greene, Farmville Central.

* Men's cross country: Farmville Central -- Brandon Coggins (POY), Sean Peters, Nick Adams. North Pitt -- Lee House, Will James. Greene Central -- Andrew Jarman, Chris Nethercutt, Robert Taylor. North Pitt -- Justin Casper. Coach of the Year -- Ryan Meadows, North Pitt.