03/02/08 — Warner Southern snaps Trojans' win streak

View Archive

Warner Southern snaps Trojans' win streak

By MOC Sports Information
Published in Sports on March 2, 2008 2:02 AM

MOUNT OLIVE -- Pedro Penate set a school record with 23 kills, but it wasn't enough as Mount Olive had its eight-match winning streak come to an end with a 30-22, 30-27, 30-32, 30-24 loss to Warner Southern in the final match of the 2008 MOC Men's Volleyball Tournament on Saturday afternoon at Kornegay Arena.

The Trojans finished with a 2-1 record in the tournament after posting a 30-18, 29-31, 30-28, 31-29 win over in-state rival Lees-McRae and a 30-16, 30-14, 30-14 win over York (N.Y.) Friday.

The tournament marked Mount Olive's first-ever senior day in the four-year history of the Trojan men's volleyball program. Senior libero Kris Suarez and setter Zach Wilson were recognized prior to Saturday's match. Both players were named to the all-tournament team.

Shedrick Forbes of Warner Southern was named Most Valuable Player.

Mount Olive (12-5 overall) played its first tournament match against Lees-McRae, enduring three two-point games after winning game one by double digits. Penate and Osvaldo Perez recorded 16 kills apiece for the Trojans, while Jose Lanier added 14 kills. Suarez tallied 11 digs and Wilson added 61 assists.

Mount Olive went to its bench against York as Felix Reimundo and Camilo Guerci tallied 10 kills apiece. Reimundo's total was a new career high. Alex Hoekstra recorded a career-high eight service aces, coming within one ace of matching a school record.

Perez tallied 17 kills Saturday against Warner Southern, while Noel Garcia added 12 kills. Lanier and Mike Carroll recorded four blocks apiece, while Suarez finished with a season-high 16 digs.

Penate broke the previous school record of 22 kills, set by Julio Arnaiz in 2006 against Endicott. Penate's previous best was 21 kills against Springfield (Mass.) in 2006 and against Eastern Mennonite last season.

Mount Olive returns to action March 13 at Eastern Mennonite. Match time is 7 p.m.