12/09/08 — ECC All-Conference list

View Archive

ECC All-Conference list

By Staff Reports
Published in Sports on December 9, 2008 1:46 PM

Eight Wayne County players comprise the 26-man All-Class 3-A Eastern Carolina Conference football roster released Monday by the conference president.

Playoff participant Eastern Wayne had three selections -- Will White, Ceron Bailey and Mac Stover. Stover flirted with the 1,000-yard mark joining the Warriors' backfield in mid-September. White emerged the area's top receiver.

Senior Khendra Reid, Tyheim Pitt and Michael Jennings represent Charles B. Aycock. The trio helped the Golden Falcons finish 4-7 overall and become playoff eligible this season.

Aycock won the ECC team sportsmanship award.

Southern Wayne's all-conference picks were 1,000-yard rusher James Jones and Joseph O'tellio.

Kinston's Battle Holley, who led the Vikings to the ECC regular-season title, earned the league's coach-of-the-year award. Wilson Beddingfield's tandem of Jamal Rolle and Lance Price shared the player-of-the-year honors.

Other all-conference awards:

Men's soccer

Alex Rodriguez earned ECC player-of-the-year recognition, while Hunt's Trent Dorough and Southern Wayne's Scott Underhill shared coach-of-the-year accolades. Receiving All-ECC acknowledgement along with Rodriguez were Aycock's Gavin Forrest, C.P. Cranford, Patrick Schultz and Tucker Pearson.

Eastern Wayne's Josh Olmsted, Richard Riddle and Nick Bowden were named to the all-conference team along with Southern Wayne's Jesus Rodriguez. The Saints and Beddingfield shared the team sportsmanship award.


Six Wayne County players earned spots on the all-conference squad.

Charles B. Aycock had Anna Sullivan and Beth Carter, while Eastern Wayne's representatives were Anna Hajjar and Megan Hruby. Recognized from Southern Wayne were Clarice Sherard and Shanica Kelly.

Eastern Wayne shared the sportsmanship award with Wilson Beddingfield.

Women's golf

Southern Wayne's Michael Wiggs and Beddingfield's Jody O'Neal shared the coach-of-the-year award. The Saints' All-ECC picks were Taylor Reaves, Taylor Scott and Darian Edwards.

Jasmine Reeves repeated as the ECC player of the year.

C.B. Aycock's Lauren Larison grabbed all-ECC accolades.

Men's cross country

Eastern Wayne had three runners make the all-ECC squad -- Russell Turner, Zach Perry and Caleb Cooper.

Southern Wayne's Chase Gardner and Kahlil Artis earned all-conference recognition along with C.B. Aycock's Eric DuBose. The Saints won the team sportsmanship award.

Women's cross country

Eastern Wayne won the regular-season title and head coach Jan Metzler was named the ECC coach-of-the-year. The Warriors also shared the sportsmanship award with Wilson Hunt.

Leanna Kirkland, Kelly Gregorcyk and Sarah Ricker made the all-conference list for Eastern Wayne. Representing C.B. Aycock were Megan Hales, Kendra Speight and Jessica Kyer.

Yolanda Rodriguez was the Saints' lone all-ECC selection.