02/02/09 — Eastern Carolina 3-A wrestling

View Archive

Eastern Carolina 3-A wrestling

By Staff Reports
Published in Sports on February 2, 2009 1:46 PM

Heavyweight Zach Myers claimed the gold medal and Eastern Wayne clinched a dual-team playoff berth with its runner-up finish in the 2009 Eastern Carolina 3-A Conference wrestling tournament contested Saturday.

Myers, a sophomore, notched a second-period fall over Charles B. Aycock's Elvin James Jr. to push the Warriors, who scored 119 points, into the postseason. James pinned Myers earlier in the week.

Eastern Wayne concluded regular-season play tied with C.B. Aycock and Wilson Beddingfield for second place in the ECC at 2-2. According to league by-laws, the highest-placing team in the conference tournament receives the remaining dual-team playoff berth.

Myers, who transferred from Florida during the summer, needed just 35 seconds to pin Beddingfield's Chris Fess in semifinal-round action. James reached the title match with a 4-2 decision over Southern Wayne's Greg Taylor.

C.B. Aycock, which logged a league-best 22-7 record, is eligible for a wild-card entry in the 16-team eastern bracket.

Regular-season champion Wilson Hunt emerged the team champion with 156.5 points, while 2008 champion C.B. Aycock ended up third with 116 points. Beddingfield finished three points behind the Golden Falcons, while Southern Wayne compiled 100 points.

Overall, wrestlers from the three Wayne County schools combined to win 22 of 42 available medals during the day-long event.

Eastern Wayne junior Zach Hahn grabbed the 140-pound crown with an 11-4 decision over Hunt's Chase Randell. Teammates Josh Hahn (112), Austin Helms (119), Corbin Harris (125), Grant Nix (145), Mike Pugh (160), Logan Wicks (189) and James Barrett (215) each captured either a silver or bronze medal in their respective weight classes.

C.B. Aycock had three individual champions -- Justin Farrell (119), Brandon Bailey (135) and senior 215-pounder Bryan Diorio. Bailey was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Wrestler.

The Golden Falcons, who didn't submit a full roster, had just five wrestlers to medal on the day. Brandon Thomas finished second at 171 and James was runner-up at heavyweight. The remaining Aycock competitors either finished fourth or lower.

Southern Wayne's Jacob Richards (130) and brother Dustin (145) each seized an ECC championship. Teammates Ryan Gross (112) and Miles Bradshaw (125) each won a silver medal. Ethan Brogden, Minek Ford and Derek Whitman each took home a bronze medal for the Saints.

2009 Eastern Carolina 3-A


Wrestling Championships

(at Eastern Wayne HS)

Team scores

Wilson Hunt 156.5

Eastern Wayne 119

C.B. Aycock 116

Wilson Beddingfield 113

Southern Wayne 100

Championship bracket

103 -- Eric Smith (B) wbf Ryan Gross (SW), 3:24; 112 -- Malex Hodges (H) dec. Josh Hahn (EW), 6-4 OT; 119 -- Justin Farrell (CBA) wbf Adnan Allen (B), 1:56; 125 -- Spencer Rhem (H) dec. Miles Bradshaw (SW), 10-8 OT; 130 -- Jacob Richards (SW) wbf David High (H), 3:23; 135 -- Brandon Bailey (CBA) wbf Bradley Williams (H), 2:41; 140 -- Zach Hahn (EW) dec. Chase Randell, 11-4; 145 -- Dustin Richards (SW) tech fall Grant Nix (EW), 17-1; 152 -- Statton Paris (CBA) wbf Cody Paris (H), 2:27; 160 -- Hunter Baker (B) wbf Mike Pugh (EW), 0:41; 171 -- Victor Perez (B) wbf Brandon Thomas (CBA), 2:37; 189 -- Gilbert Niez (H) dec. Logan Wicks (EW), 4-2; 215 -- Bryan Diorio (CBA) dec. Kenny Hertling (H), 8-2; Hwt -- Zach Myers (EW) wbf Elvin James Jr. (CBA), 2:44.

Third place

103 -- Jake Britt (H); 112 -- Danny Nichols (B); 119 -- Austin Helms (EW); 125 -- Corbin Harris (EW) wbf Trevon Brooks (B), 2:26; 130 -- Chris Winship (B) dec. Zeb Darden (CBA), 7-5; 135 -- Mark Knight (B) maj. dec. Jamison Dove (SW), 14-4; 140 -- Ethan Brogden (SW) dec. Thomas Podbesek (CBA), 2-0; 145 -- Ben Davis (H) wbf Aaron Pate (CBA), 2:40; 152 -- Minek Ford (SW) maj. dec. Cody Britt, 16-2; 160 -- Spencer Miller (H) dec. Kaleb Robinson (CBA), 4-3; 171 -- Robert Ladd (H) maj. dec. Cameron Herring (E), 15-5; 189 -- Derek Whitman (SW) wbf. Lloyd Davis (B), 3:01; 215 -- James Barrett (EW) dec. Emmanuel Lindsay (B) 6-4; Hwt -- Chris Fess (B) wbf Greg Taylor (SW), 3:44.