06/09/09 — Warriors earn ECC All-Conference honors

View Archive

Warriors earn ECC All-Conference honors

By Rudy Coggins
Published in Sports on June 9, 2009 1:46 PM

To the victors go the spoils.

Future Major League Draft pick John Wooten earned player of the year accolades after leading Eastern Wayne to its second consecutive Eastern Carolina 3-A Conference regular-season baseball title. Wooten clubbed a county-high 18 homers as the Warriors finished runners-up to Lake Norman in the N.C. High School Athletic Association state championship series this past weekend.

Eastern Wayne head coach Jabo Fulghum shared ECC coach of the year accolades with Wilson Hunt's Jon Smith. After nine consecutive losses in the postseason, Fulghum's last two teams have compiled a 9-3 playoff worksheet including a 7-1 mark at home.

The Warriors made their first appearance in the state finals since 1986 and just their third overall in program history.

Joining Wooten on the All-ECC squad were Walker Gourley, Cambric Moye, Josh Frederick and Robert Faucette.

UNC Wilmington signee Will Edgerton led a four-player contingent from Charles B. Aycock. Shortstop Connor Narron, and pitchers Adron Hollowell and Eric DuBose also received nods on the all-conference list.

Tyler Edwards and Scott Holloman represented Southern Wayne.

Beddingfield won the team sportsmanship award.

Four-time ECC regular-season softball champion C.B. Aycock had five all-conference honorees -- Brooke Bell, Anna Sullivan, Autumn Pittman, Cynthia Burroughs and Rachel Jordan. The quintet helped lead the Golden Falcons to their first NCHSAA final four berth since 2006 and fourth eastern regional title since 2000.

Pittman shared ECC player-of-the-year honors with Hunt's Amber Parrish.

Mount Olive College signee Lauren Darden and third baseman Morgan Davis were selected from Southern Wayne for all-conference recognition. Eastern Wayne senior Lindsey Frederick, a three-sport standout, received all-ECC acknowledgment.

Southern Wayne shared the team sportsmanship award with Kinston.

Eastern Wayne placed four players on the All-ECC women's soccer team -- back-up keeper Deborah Doran, Brandi Dean, Anna Hajjar and Danielle Daniel. Keeper Courtney Sheeks and Samantha Parrish represented C.B. Aycock.

Nichole Castro was chosen for all-ECC recognition from Southern Wayne, which shared the team sportsmanship award with county rival Eastern Wayne.

Hunt captured the ECC Wachovia Cup by 61/2 points over Eastern Wayne, which finished either first or second in five spring sports. Beddingfield ended up third with 162 points, followed by C.B. Aycock (157.5), Southern Wayne (151.5) and Kinston (103.5).

Hunt, Beddingfield and Kinston are leaving the ECC and will be replaced by North Lenoir, South Johnston and Erwin Triton. The new league realignment took effect June 1.

The Wachovia Conference Cup -- formerly known as the Wachovia Trophy -- is a companion to the Wachovia Cup, a statewide award given to schools with the best overall interscholastic athletic performance in each of the state's four classifications. In most conferences, points are awarded based on participation and standings in conference play. Each conference determines its own method of awarding points.

Wachovia has sponsored the conference awards program since 1980.