10/15/09 — Rosewood's 1980 team to be honored

View Archive

Rosewood's 1980 team to be honored

By Staff Reports
Published in Sports on October 15, 2009 1:46 PM

Rosewood High officials will turn back the clock during halftime of Friday's home contest against Carolina 1-A Conference newcomer Goldsboro.

The 1980 Eagles' football team, which finished the state runner-up that season, comprises the sixth class for induction into the Rosewood High School Athletics Hall of Fame.

Directed by head coach Charlie Van Hoy, the Eagles compiled an 11-2 record during their historical run to the championship game. The 31-player group posted three shutouts in Carolina 1-A Conference action and six overall that fall.

Van Hoy's team had its league shutout streak halted in the regular-season finale against archrival Princeton, a 36-6 Rosewood victory. The Eagles accomplished a first in program history with triumphs over North Duplin and Princeton during the same season.

Rosewood started its playoff charge with a 36-14 triumph over then Tobacco Belt Conference member Creswell. Van Hoy's club clipped Rowland (now South Robeson) by a 16-14 margin in the eastern regional championship game.

Next was powerhouse Robbinsville.

Long-time fixtures in the postseason, the Black Knights proved too much to handle at Branch Pope Field. The Smoky Mountain Conference power logged a 40-0 victory and dashed Rosewood's chance of becoming Wayne County's first-ever state champion in football.

It was Robbinsville's ninth state title at the time.

Eight Eagles earned all-Conference Conference honors during that season -- Mike Farmer, Robbie Pelletier, Scott Pelletier, Jeff Kornegay, Dean Simmons, Randy Woodard and Terry Langston. Teammates Tommy Hill, Chris Holmes, Vince King and Jeff Norris received all-conference honorable mention accolades.

Farmer and Langston were selected first-team, All-East performers. Scott Pelletier made was an All-East, second-team pick.