12/13/09 — Pinkowski shares coaching accolade

View Archive

Pinkowski shares coaching accolade

By From staff reports
Published in Sports on December 13, 2009 1:50 AM

Charles B. Aycock's Randy Pinkowski has been named tri-coach of the year on the Eastern Carolina 3-A Conference varsity football scene.

Pinkowski guided the Golden Falcons to 10 victories, a third-place finish in the ECC and a second-round appearance in the N.C. High School Athletic Association 3-A playoffs. He shares the award with South Johnston head coach Joe Salas and Triton head coach Joe McCullen.

The Golden Falcons placed four players on the All-ECC team -- Marcus Cobb, Tyheim Pitt, Greg Johnson and Anderson Barnes. Cobb finished as the area's second-leading rusher in total yardage. Pitt emerged a strong defensive leader, while Johnson and Barnes shined as linemen.

Southern Wayne had three All-ECC choices -- Javonni Robinson, Nolan Sanders and Marquis Hines. Chris Hines and all-purpose standout Lamar Best were Eastern Wayne's all-conference picks.

The Saints shared the team sportsmanship award with Triton.

In men's soccer, ECC tournament champion C.B. Aycock had four All-ECC honorees -- Patrick Roosen, Patrick Schultze, Travis Musselman and Jose Rodriguez. The quartet helped lead the Golden Falcons to an unprecedented fifth consecutive ECC tournament championship.

Eastern Wayne, which received the team sportsmanship award, had three All-ECC nominees -- Nick Baker, Alex Lloyd and Nick Bowden. Ranferi Hernandez was Southern Wayne's lone All-ECC selection.

In volleyball, the Saints collected the

Continued from 2B

team sportsmanship award and had two All-ECC members -- Stephanie Rockwell and Stephanie Bellefeuille. Aycock's Brittany Jackson and Beth Carter were also chosen, along with Eastern Wayne's Amythest McPhail.

In women's tennis, three-time ECC regular-season champion Eastern Wayne collected plenty of postseason recognition. Senior Danielle Daniel repeated as the ECC player-of-the-year, while Kelly Matthews was chosen coach of the year.

Joining Daniel on the All-ECC squad were teammate and sister Janielle Daniel, and doubles partner Warner Underwood. Daniel-Underwood won the ECC doubles championship and advanced to the NCHSAA state tournament.

Ashley Howell, Hollie Baker and Abbey Strickland represented Aycock on the all-conference team. Morgan Roberts and Jessica Best received All-ECC acknowledgement from Southern Wayne.

Eastern Wayne captured the team sportsmanship award in women's cross country. The Warriors' Morgan Jeffreys was the lone All-ECC recipient. Aycock's all-conference selections were Caroline Schlaeppi, Kendra Speight and Jessica Kyer.

In men's cross country, sophomore Russell Turner and Caleb Cooper represented Eastern Wayne on the all-conference team. Nathan Jones was Aycock's lone selection.