06/02/10 — Gators, Golden Falcons recognized

View Archive

Gators, Golden Falcons recognized

By From staff reports
Published in Sports on June 2, 2010 1:47 PM

SEVEN SPRINGS -- Eleven athletes received awards in the annual Spring Creek Spring Awards ceremony.

The winners were also All-Carolina Conference selections.

Here are the recipients by sport:

* Baseball: Dontay Boseman, Duane Gurganus, Hunter Barnett and Eric Evans.

* Softball: Brittany Collier and Katlyn Casey.

* Golf: Paul Sullivan and Kenneth Freeman.

* Tennis: Kent Jernigan.

* Girls' soccer: Savannah Egelston and Carolina Balleza.

Aycock awards

PIKEVILLE -- Charles B. Aycock athletes were recognized in a season-ending, spring awards ceremony held recently in the school gymnasium.

The winners were:

* JV softball: Savannah Briggs (Falcon Award), Kathleen Doughty (Leadership Award).

* Women's track: Darian Dobbs (MVP Sprinter), Raquelle Lawrence (MVP All-Around), Emily Martin (MVP Field Events) and Kristian Marlowe (Coaches Award).

* Men's track: Deven Sanders (MVP Sprinter), Tyrice Gilbert (MVP Hurdler), Cade Ivey (MVP Long Distance) and Darius Bryant (Coaches Award).

* Varsity girls' soccer: Courtney Sheeks (MVP), Taylor Demartini (Coaches POY), Samantha Parrish (Offensive POY) and Caroline Schlaeppi (Defensive POY).

* JV girls' soccer: Casey Scarboro (MVP), Jaden Thames (Coaches Award).

* Men's golf: Dylan Mitchell (MVP), Michael Fearney (Most Improved).

* Men's tennis: Blake Vail (ECC singles champion), Addison Westbrook (ECC doubles champion), Dylan Quinn (ECC doubles champion).

* JV baseball: Cameron Taylor and Collin DuBose (co-MVPs).

* Varsity baseball: The Falcon Award was presented to the seniors -- Jeff Carmel, Eric DuBose, Adron Hollowell, Nicholas McGee, Connor Narron, Jordan Quinn, Tyler Ruffin and Austin Terrell.

* Varsity softball: The Lady Falcon Award was presented to seniors Autumn Pittman and Cara Frederick.