11/16/10 — WCDS fall sports award winners

View Archive

WCDS fall sports award winners

By From staff reports
Published in Sports on November 16, 2010 1:47 PM

Wayne Country Day recognized its fall sports athletes with a season-ending awards ceremony. Here are the winners:

Field hockey

Most Valuable Offense Margaret Tanner

Most Valuable Defense Kennedy Dalton

Most Improved Mary Crawford Tanner

Coach's Award Anna Rains

JV volleyball

Coach's Award Rachel Uzzell

Most Improved Alexandra Draughon

MVP Sarah Crooks

Varsity volleyball

Coach's Award Natalie Ecker

Most Improved Hannah Pearson

MVP Kim Martell

Girls' tennis

Coach's Award Abby Pope

Most Improved Meredith Roethling

Mollie MacDonald

MVP Mack Thompson

Sarah Best

Cross country

Girls' best time Lisa Peacock

Boys' best time Robert Glass

Several WCDS athletes earned all-Coastal Plains Independent Conference accolades. Here are the recipients:

Boys' soccer: Tyson Pearson, Hil Tanner, Bryce Creger. Honorable mention -- Thomas Elmore.

Volleyball: Kim Martell (CPIC player of the year), Hannah Pearson, Jessica Zhou. Honorable mention -- Edie Hooks.

Girls' tennis: Sarah Best (CPIC player of the year), Mollie MacDonald, Mack Thompson. Honorable mention -- Meredith Roethling. Roething was named the MVP at the season-ending CPIC tournament.

NCISAA All-State: Pearson and Martell.

The Chargers' Jo Ann Logan was named the CPIC girls' tennis coach of the year.