06/07/12 — Rosewood, Aycock claim respective Wells Fargo Conference Cups

View Archive

Rosewood, Aycock claim respective Wells Fargo Conference Cups

By Rudy Coggins
Published in Sports on June 7, 2012 1:48 PM

Rosewood got the three-peat.

Charles B. Aycock rallied in the spring.

The Eagles and Golden Falcons emerged the Wells Fargo Conference Cup champion within their respective leagues for the 2011-12 sports campaign, according to the final totals released by the N.C. High School Athletic Association on Wednesday afternoon.

"Our coaches and athletes are extremely proud to be able to win the Wells Fargo Cup for a third year in a row," RHS athletics director Robert Britt said. "We have good coaches and hard-working athletes, and winning the cup is a testament to that."

Rosewood claimed Carolina 1-A Conference regular-season titles in men's golf, men's and women's track and field, and shared both the women's soccer and softball titles with archrival Princeton. The Eagles compiled 87 points -- 111/2 points more than the Bulldogs, who ended up second overall.

Ayden-Grifton, which won the baseball crown, took third with 571/2 points. Spring Creek (50 points), Goldsboro High (47.5) and North Duplin (31) rounded out the six-team league.

The Golden Falcons trailed Triton by the slimmest of margins after the winter sports season, but once again had another great spring. Aycock secured the women's soccer and softball championships, took second in men's tennis and compiled 109 points.

Triton, which did not win a spring title, dropped to second with 1021/2 points. South Johnston was third with 91 points. Cleveland (89.5 points), Eastern Wayne (77), Southern Wayne (50.5) and North Lenoir (45.5) completed the Cup chase.

"The school is very proud of all of our student-athletes, coaches and community," CBA athletics director Charles Davis said. "This is a big accomplishment for our athletics program."

The Wells Fargo Conference Cup is awarded to schools with the best overall interscholastic athletic performance in each individual conference. In most conferences, points are awarded bases on participation and standings in conference play. Each conference determines its own method of awarding points.