10/30/12 — Wayne Country Day fall sports athletes honored

View Archive

Wayne Country Day fall sports athletes honored

By Staff Reports
Published in Sports on October 30, 2012 1:48 PM

Athletes from Wayne Country Day were recognized for their outstanding performances during fall sports at a season-ending awards ceremony in the school gymnasium.

Senior Cody Neal earned a spot on the 2012 N.C. Independent Schools Athletic Association Class 1-A all-state men's soccer team. The Chargers advanced to the postseason.

Senior Sarah Best and sophomore Gianna Democko each received a spot on the 2012 NCISAA Class 1-A all-state women's tennis team. The duo helped the Chargers reach the semifinal-round of the inaugural dual-team championships this past weekend in Wilson.

The award winners were:

* Varsity soccer: Extra Effort -- Jacob Parks; Most Valuable Player -- Neal.

* JV soccer: Co-Offensive MVP -- Noah Adkins and John Thompson; Defensive MVP -- Zan Pittman; Midfielder Award -- Lee McDonald; MVP -- Hayes Gerrard.

* Varsity volleyball: Coach's Award -- Sarah Crooks; Most Improved -- Rachel Uzzell; Senior Awards -- Hannah Pearson, Brooke Neal and Jessica Zhou; MVP -- Hannah Pearson.

* JV volleyball: Coach's Award -- Stephanie Schappell; Most Improved -- Jessica Watson; MVP -- Tiffany Larson.

* Middle school volleyball: Coach's Awards -- Olivia Dively and Cheyenne Canuette.

* Tennis: Coach's Award -- Abbey Pope; Extra Effort Award -- Margaux Pope; Co-MVP -- Best and Democko.

* Field hockey: Coach's Award -- Anna Rains; Most Improved -- Kate Thompson; MVP -- Kennedy Dalton.

* Cross country: Female Best Time -- Lisa Peacock; Male Best Time -- Jackson Warren.