05/22/13 — WCDS spring awards announced

View Archive

WCDS spring awards announced

By From staff reports
Published in Sports on May 22, 2013 1:47 PM

Wayne Country Day concluded its 2013 spring sports campaign with a season-ending awards ceremony.

Athletes were recognized in six sports -- varsity girls and JV soccer, boys' and girls' track and field, and varsity and JV baseball. Special awards were presented to athletes for their achievements in the classroom and contributions to their respective sports.

The award recipients were:

* Sam Patrick Award (Life-time athlete): Sarah Best, Hannah Pearson and Cody Neal.

* Tom Jones Award (FCA/Sportsmanship): Brooke Neal and Wyatt Bland.

* Scholar-athlete Award: Abbey Pope (female) and Thomas Kierski (male).

* Coastal Plains Independent Awards: Scholastic All-CPIC -- Thomas Kierski and Abbey Pope. CPIC Sportsmanship -- Zack Brewer-Kirby.

* Varsity girls' soccer: Best Defensive Player -- Margaux Pope; Most Improved -- Margaret Tanner; Team Player -- Caroline Koscheski; MVP -- Sarah Best. All-CPIC -- Best, Pope, Tanner and Crawford Tanner. NCISAA 1-A All-State -- Best.

* JV girls' soccer: Most Improved -- Eliza Eagles; MVP -- Lillian Freeman.

* Varsity baseball: Senior Award -- Cody Neal, Wyatt Bland, Jack Langston, Luke Bryan and Thomas Kierski. All-CPIC -- Neal. All-CPIC honorable mention -- Mason Bland. NCISAA 1-A All-State -- Neal.

* JV baseball: Coach's Award -- Lance Davis.

* Girls' track and field: Coach's Award -- Lisa Peacock; Best Athlete -- Payton Meadows.

* Boys' track and field: Coach's Award -- Brewer-Kirby; Best athlete -- Ramel Carpenter.