07/13/17 — Weaver nominee for Groza Award

View Archive

Weaver nominee for Groza Award

By Rudy Coggins
Published in Sports on July 13, 2017 7:07 AM

WINSTON-SALEM -- Wake Forest placekicker Mike Weaver has been named to the Lou Groza Award watch list released Wednesday.

A 6-foot-1, 190-pound redshirt senior, Weaver enters the season ranked sixth in school history with 212 points. He's converted 47 of 64 field goals. His 47 career FGs are second-most only to former Demon Deach Sam Swank, who has 71.

Weaver earned first-team All-Atlantic Coast Conference honors last season. He's knocked down 71 of 72 career PATs, including 31 straight.

The Groza Award is named for NFL Hall of Fame member Lou "The Toe" Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named the league player-of-the-year in 1954.

The Palm Beach (Fla.) County Sports Commission presents the award each year.

-- WFU Media Relations


Wolfpack's Cole

gets preseason nod

RALEIGH -- For the second time in his career, North Carolina State punter AJ Cole has been selected to the 2017 Ray Guy Award, which is given annually to the nation's top collegiate punter.

Cole is one of 29 candidates on the list.

The junior averaged 41.5 yards per kick last season. His 4,854 punting yards is 11th all-time in program history, while he shares 15th place with 117 total punts.

In 2000, the Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in memory of the College and Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee. The criteria include team leadership, self discipline and a positive influence on the team's success.

Cole is also an All-State American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Good Works Team nominee. The award recognizes players for their community service efforts.

A two-time ACC Academic Honor Roll member, Cole has spent the past three spring breaks in Nakuru, Kenya, ministering to the children at Mountain Park Academy with a group from the Fellowship of Christian Athletes.

-- N.C. State Media Relations


Nine ACC players

on Mackey Award list

GREENSBORO -- Nine Atlantic Coast Conference football players have been selected to the preseason watch list for the 2017 John Mackey Award.

Friends of John Mackey announced the list Tuesday.

Virginia native and Wake Forest senior Cam Serigne is making his third appearance on the preseason Mackey List after earning nods on the 2015 and 2016 squads. Florida State junior Ryan Izzo, who hails from New Jersey, is a two-time pick.

Louisville was one of three ACC schools to have two selections -- juniors Mickey Crum and Jordan Davis.

The Mackey Award is given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end. The winner will be announced on Dec. 6 and presented the trophy on Dec. 7 during the Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU.

An NFL Hall of Fame member, Mackey played collegiately at current ACC member Syracuse from 1960-62, and was considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the National Football Leage Players Association (NFLPA).

Since the Award's inception in 2000, four players from current ACC schools have won the Mackey Award -- Florida State's Nick O'Leary (2014), Clemson's Dwayne Allen (2011), Virginia's Heath Miller (2004) and Miami's Kellen Winslow II (2003).

-- ACC Media Relations