02/04/18 — Wrestling --Rosewood captures 1A Dual Team Title

View Archive

Wrestling --Rosewood captures 1A Dual Team Title

By Justin Hayes
Published in Sports on February 4, 2018 3:09 AM

In a pinned tweet dated January 11, 2018, Reid Amodeo posted a visual reminder spelling out the remarkably thin margin which separated Rosewood High from the 2017 N.C. High School Athletic Association 1A dual team wrestling title.

Underneath the match's final score -- 36 to 31, to be exact -- was a footnote of sorts for all the world to ponder.

Never forget how it felt, it read.

And after his team's state-title winning performance on Saturday at famed Greensboro Coliseum, in which the Eagles dethroned Robbinsville, 41-27, it's safe to say he likely now can.

Amodeo's 3-2 decision over Robbinsville's Nathan Fisher at 126 pounds buoyed matters for Rosewood, a fundamental outfit bent on recapturing the title it won in February of 2016.

And when Joey Behrend -- who claimed his 100th career victory in the second round against county line acquaintance Neuse Charter -- defeated Colton Phillips via the pin, the rally back to title-town was  effectively over.

"Redemption," said RHS head coach Bill Edmundson. "Joey Behrend wrestled his heart out making up for a loss last year from Robbinsville."

As did all of this year's troupe, who felt just as Amodeo did regarding the conclusion of the 2017 campaign.

In addition to the title, Behrend was honored as the 1A MVP, while Amodeo was presented the N.C. Farm Bureau sportsmanship award prior to the start of the match.

Rosewood (ROSE) 41

Robbinsville (ROBB)  27

195: Wess Hooper (ROBB) over David Brown (ROSE) (Fall 2:52) 220: Fredy Romero (ROBB) over Blake Jarman (ROSE) (Dec 9-2) 285: Nyterrius Williams (ROSE) over   (ROBB) (For.) 106: Christian Decatur (ROSE) over Luke Wilson (ROBB) (Fall 0:56) 113: Matt Lovin (ROBB) over   (ROSE) (For.) 120: Timothy Decatur (ROSE) over Braden Millsaps (ROBB) (TF 17-0 5:30) 126: Reid Amodeo (ROSE) over Nathan  Fisher (ROBB) (Dec 3-2) 132: Kade Millsaps (ROBB) over Chris Hill (ROSE) (Dec 12-7) 138: Jordan Todd (ROSE) over Cooper Cable (ROBB) (MD 14-0) 145: Tanner Smith (ROSE) over Christian Queen (ROBB) (TF 20-4 4:59) 152: Payne Anderson (ROBB) over Seth Finney (ROSE) (Dec 7-2) 160: Joey Behrend (ROSE) over Colton Phillips (ROBB) (Fall 3:24) 170: Collin Pendergraph (ROSE) over Austin Lovin (ROBB) (Fall 0:27) 182: Isaac Wilkinson (ROBB) over Luke Evans (ROSE) (Fall 0:36)