02/12/18 — Wrestling --Rosewood qualifies eight for Greensboro

View Archive

Wrestling --Rosewood qualifies eight for Greensboro

By Staff Reports
Published in Sports on February 12, 2018 5:53 AM

 DENTON -- The Rosewood High trio of Christian Decatur, Timothy Decatur and Jordan Todd made light work of any and all opposition on Saturday at the N.C. High School Athletic Association 1A East Regional, leading a staggering eight Eagle grapplers into next weekend's state championship in Greensboro.

Christian Decatur got matters rolling in the 106-pound class, registering victories over Cody Lawson of South Stokes and Scott Tyree of Uwharrie Charter Academy to reach to 1st-place match.

And as he is often wont to do, Decatur went to work, defeating Chandler Steele of Chatham Charter by fall.

Timothy Decatur (120) reached the state finals with victories over Hunter Barrier of South Stanley, Cole Armstrong of Chatham Central and Josh Poteat of Uwharrie Charter.

Jordan Todd (138), who keyed Rosewood's run to its second dual-team state title in three years a week ago, turned back George Vrachnos of Lejeune, Ricky Gonzalea of South Stokes and Mason Hulin of South Davidson en route to Greensboro.

"We  had a couple of bad seeding matchups, a couple of really tough matches and a couple of unfortunate injuries that cost a few of our guys a chance to go to the state championships," Rosewood head coach Bill Edmundson said, also recognizing the effort of Blake Jarman (220) and Mickey Harris.

Other RHS qualifiers included Chris Hill, Reid Amodeo, Tanner Smith, Seth Finney and Nyterrius Williams.

Individual results are as follows:

Reid Amodeo 

Champ. Round 1 - Reid Amodeo (Rosewood) over Gage Holmes (Princeton) (Fall 3:49)

Quarterfinals - Reid Amodeo (Rosewood) over Jordan Huerta (Holmes) (Fall 1:36)

Semifinals - Joel Santa Lucia (South Davidson) over Reid Amodeo (Rosewood) (Fall 3:29)

Cons. Semis - Reid Amodeo (Rosewood) over Tyler Sawyer (Pender) (Dec 10-4)

3rd Place Match - Reid Amodeo (Rosewood) over Franko Cuccurello (Neuse Charter School) (Dec 6-1)

Joey Behrend 

Champ. Round 1 - Joey Behrend (Rosewood) over Trent Jones (Manteo) (Fall 4:23)

Quarterfinals - Jacobi Deal (Voyager Academy) over Joey Behrend (Rosewood) (MD 14-4)

Cons. Round 2 - Joey Behrend (Rosewood) over Kristopher Little (Albemarle) (Fall 1:21)

Cons. Round 3 - Kyle Balageo (Princeton) over Joey Behrend (Rosewood) (Dec 6-3)

David Brown 

Quarterfinals - Shannon King (Chatham Central) over David Brown (Rosewood) (Fall 3:04)

Cons. Round 2 - Alvin Swinson (Pender) over David Brown (Rosewood) (Fall 3:44)

Noah Carden

Champ. Round 1 - Elijah Mitchell (Louisburg) over Noah Carden (Rosewood) (MD 15-6)

Cons. Round 1 - Carter Terry (North Stanly) over Noah Carden (Rosewood) (MD 10-2)

Seth Finney 

Quarterfinals - Seth Finney (Rosewood) over Rodney Hammond (South Stanly) (Dec 7-2)

Semifinals - Seth Finney (Rosewood) over Kaleb Mitchell (South Stokes) (Fall 3:48)

1st Place Match - Jerry  Jimenez (Uwharrie Charter Academy) over Seth Finney (Rosewood) (Inj. [time])

Malika Haines

Champ. Round 1 - Malika Haines (Rosewood) over Logan Hardison (Pender) (Fall 1:31)

Quarterfinals - Raquavius Hopkins (Tarboro) over Malika Haines (Rosewood) (Fall 1:45)

Cons. Round 2 - Malika Haines (Rosewood) over Kaleb Jordan (Chatham Central) (Fall 4:19)

Cons. Round 3 - Camden Gurley (Neuse Charter School) over Malika Haines (Rosewood) (Fall 2:26)

Chris Hill

Quarterfinals - Chris Hill (Rosewood) over Jonah Stephen (Pamlico County) (Fall 3:17)

Semifinals - Chris Hill (Rosewood) over Adam  Robins (Uwharrie Charter Academy) (Fall 3:58)

1st Place Match - Logan  Merrill (South Davidson) over Chris Hill (Rosewood) (Dec 7-5)

Blake Jarman

Champ. Round 1 - Blake Jarman (Rosewood) over Raul Ramirez (Louisburg) (Fall 3:19)

Quarterfinals - Nicholas King (West Montgomery) over Blake Jarman (Rosewood) (Fall 1:05)

Cons. Round 3 - Blake Jarman (Rosewood) over Jaime Bernal (Uwharrie Charter Academy) (Fall 3:14)

Cons. Semis - Khris Mayo (South Stanly) over Blake Jarman (Rosewood) (Fall 1:56)

Collin Pendergraph

Champ. Round 1 - Collin Pendergraph (Rosewood) over Zayne Perkins (Pamlico County) (Fall 1:31)

Quarterfinals - Jacari Deal (Voyager Academy) over Collin Pendergraph (Rosewood) (Dec 9-2)

Cons. Round 2 - Collin Pendergraph (Rosewood) over Ryan McOwen (Manteo) (Fall 2:09)

Cons. Round 3 - Josiah Simmoms (Cape Hatteras) over Collin Pendergraph (Rosewood) (Dec 9-5)

Tanner Smith 

Champ. Round 1 - Tanner Smith (Rosewood) over Ben Lineberry (Chatham Charter) (Fall 2:00)

Quarterfinals - Nick Menjivar (Uwharrie Charter Academy) over Tanner Smith (Rosewood) (Dec 4-1)

Cons. Round 2 - Tanner Smith (Rosewood) over Shyliq Perry (Granville Central) (Fall 3:25)

Cons. Round 3 - Tanner Smith (Rosewood) over Skylar Pounds (Tarboro) (Fall 0:31)

Cons. Semis - Tanner Smith (Rosewood) over Damie Griffin (South Stanly) (Dec 15-9)

3rd Place Match - Alexander Gonzalez (Neuse Charter School) over Tanner Smith (Rosewood) (Dec 6-3)

Nyterrius Williams

Champ. Round 1 - Nyterrius Williams (Rosewood) over Seth Simmons (Holmes) (Fall 0:31)

Quarterfinals - Nyterrius Williams (Rosewood) over Zach Hill (Princeton) (Fall 2:32)

Semifinals - Nyterrius Williams (Rosewood) over Jacob Efird (South Stanly) (Dec 3-2)

1st Place Match - Javon Armstrong (Pamlico County) over Nyterrius Williams (Rosewood) (Fall 2:21)