Goldsboro voters have two more races to decide when they go to the polls in November.

District 4 Councilman Bevan J. Foster filed on Friday to challenge Mayor Chuck Allen in the Goldsboro mayoral race, and Tonya Davis Barber filed to face Taj J. Polack for the District 3 seat on the council.

A mayoral race also developed in Fremont Friday when Keith L. Spivey filed to challenge Mayor Darron Flowers.

Also filing on Friday was David Pittman, an incumbent member of the Northwestern Sanitary District board.

Barber’s filing means that five of Goldsboro’s six City Council districts are contested in the Nov. 5 election, and races have developed in Mount Olive and Fremont.

Goldsboro District 2 Councilman Bill Broadaway will face Kelvin Maurice Stallings.

In District 4, Sadie Baldwin Simmons and Brandi N. Matthews have filed for the seat now held by Foster.

District 5 Councilman David Ham is being challenged by Jermaine Dawson.

District 6 Councilman Gene Aycock will face David L. Craig.

If three or more candidates file for a Goldsboro City Council seat or the mayor’s post, an Oct. 8 primary will be held, with the top two vote-getters in each race heading to the November general election. Primaries will not be held in any other municipal elections or in the sanitary districts.

In Mount Olive, District 1 Commissioner Vicky Darden will face Andrade Olive.

Fremont District 1 Alderman Al Lewis is being challenged by Beatrice Jones. Alderman Joyce Artis is also being challenged for the District 4 seat on the Fremont town board.

Candidates filing for office through Friday are:


• Mayor, Chuck Allen, incumbent; Bevan Foster.

• Council District 1, Zachary E. Lilly.

• Council District 2, Bill Broadaway, incumbent; Kelvin Maurice Stallings.

• Council District 3, Taj J. Polack; Tonya Davis Barber.

• Council District 4, Sadie Baldwin Simmons; Brandi N. Matthews.

• Council District 5, David Ham, incumbent; Jermaine Dawson.

• Council District 6, Gene Aycock, incumbent; David L. Craig.


• Mayor, W. Darron Flowers, incumbent; Keith L. Spivey.

• Alderman District 1, Al Lewis, incumbent; Beatrice Jones.

• Alderman District 2, Leon Mooring, incumbent.

• Alderman District 3, Ricky Mozingo.

• Alderman District 4, Harold Cuddington; Joyce Monica Artis, incumbent.

• Alderman District 5, Joyce C. Reid, incumbent.

• Alderman District 6, Annie Lewis, incumbent.

Mount Olive

• Mayor, Joe Scott, incumbent.

• At-large Commissioner, Steve Wiggins, incumbent.

• Commissioner District 1, Vicky Darden, incumbent; Andrade Oliver.

• Commissioner District 2, Harlie Carmichael, incumbent.

• Commissioner District 3, Barbara Ross Kornegay, incumbent.

• Commissioner District 4, Dennis Draper, incumbent.


• Commissioner, at-large seats, Robert Hooks, incumbent; Steve West, incumbent.

Walnut Creek

• Mayor Danny Jackson, incumbent commissioner; Cynthia Fallin Dupuy, incumbent commissioner. (Walnut Creek does not have an election mayor, rather the council selects the mayor.)

Fork Township Sanitary District, two seats

• Beverly Perkins Keen, incumbent; Andy G. Hartley, incumbent; Tony McCabe.

Northwestern Wayne Sanitary District, five seats

• Walter F. Bridgers, Danny Keith Tillman and David Pittman, incumbents.

Southern Wayne Sanitary District, three seats

• Efton Sager, incumbent; Thomas Gainey; Scott T. Ingram.

Southwestern Wayne Sanitary District, five member

• Gail Porter Minchew, incumbent; Daryll E. Overton, incumbent; Kelly Hughes; Jimmy Cox, incumbent; David A. Bennett, incumbent.

Filing for municipal and sanitary district offices opened at noon July 5 and will continue through noon Friday at the Wayne County Board of Elections office, at 309 E. Chestnut St. All of the contests are nonpartisan.