Six Arendell Parrott Academy students from Wayne County were recently named service scholars.

The Kinston private school recently inducted 191 students into its SERV Society, which stands for Students Effectively Realizing their Value.

Goldsboro area students included seniors Catherine Denton and Jean Okonkwo and juniors Jeff Bland, Blythe Brantley, Brianne Cregan and Sam Okonkwo.

SERV was established in 1997 to promote volunteerism within the school family and to recognize exemplary participation and community service.

The latest induction represented 75 percent of the high school student body, who contributed a total of 14,455 hours of community service. Individual hours ranged from 12 hours to more than 500.

Parrott also had 79 students who volunteered over 100 hours of community service, earning the national designation of Presidential Service Scholars. All six of the Goldsboro students were among those receiving the Presidential Service Scholar status.