Spring Creek High School Career and Technical Education students

From left, Spring Creek High School Career and Technical Education, or CTE, student recipients of awards presented at the recent Wayne County Public Schools CTE/CTSO celebration are Abigail Johnson, Alexandra Kimes, Elizabeth Lynch, Jessica McDonough, Mikayla Price and Savanna Willis. The group competed in parliamentary procedure, placing third in the Southeast Region, advancing to the state competition in June.

Wayne County Public Schools’ Career and Technical Education department, or CTE, held its annual awards ceremony, recognizing students and educators at the WCPS Professional Development and Family Engagement Center.

The district recognized students from the local CTSO, or Career and Technical Student Organization, clubs and chapters who earned credentials aligned with their CTE source, competed and placed in the top three of local, regional and state competitions and advanced to place at national and international contests.

More than 330 students were recognized at the latest event, including 66 high school students who earned a platinum level of the national Career Readiness Certificate.

The CTE department promotes national and international vocational chapters at the middle and high school levels. These include Technology Students Association (TSA), Future Business Leaders Association (FBLA), Family, Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA), Health Occupations Students of America (HOSA), Future Farmers of America (FFA), SkillsUSA and DECA.

“Hundreds of students participate in our middle and high school CTSO clubs and chapters each year,” said Beverly Boltinhouse, district CTE director. “With the support of their CTSO advisers, these students spend several months preparing for competitions. As a result of their hard work, our CTSO clubs and chapters take home many top awards at the various levels of competition.”

During the latest celebration, the department recognized its retiring teachers, as well as honored its 2019-20 middle and high school teacher of the year. Wayne School of Engineering technology education teacher Heather Lancaster was named the CTE Middle School Teacher of the Year. She has taught at WSE for two years, joining WCPS from Woodington Middle School in Lenoir County.

Karen Cox, agriculture teacher at Charles B. Aycock High for 23 years, was named CTE High School Teacher of the Year.

First-place state awards and international competition placements include:

Charles B. Aycock DECA: Abbigail Shackleford, MaKayla Kelley and Cameron Merrill, Top 18 international finalist for public relations project; Nicholas Garcia, Morgan Quinn and Lauren Watkins, entrepreneurship promotion project; Hannah Spier and Kayla Spier, startup business plan.

Mount Olive Middle: Tyler Odom, TSA for promotional marketing.

Norwayne Middle: TSA winners Avery Odom, promotional marketing; Avery Bass, construction challenge; Tara Anne Burnham, inventions and innovations; Gabriella Carrasquillo and Savannah Rodriguez, chapter team; Ethan Davis, construction challenge; Annika Forsleff and Chase Petty, chapter team and construction challenge; Alexus Howell and Alyssa Howell, chapter team, inventions and innovations and Off the Grid; and Ashlyn Sexton, Off the Grid.

Spring Creek High: FFA, Mikayla Price, proficiency award, home and community development; Elizabeth Lynch, proficiency award, diversified crop production; and FFA chapter, finalist for national chapter award.

Wayne School of Engineering: TSA, Reid Barnett, Navya Dixit and Carter Lewis, high school tech bowl.

The following students and chapters and chapters received awards, certificates, credentials and/or earned points-based degrees in their respective CTSO area:

Charles B. Aycock  FBLA: Juan Anariba, Shayla Armprester, James Bell, Scott Jraa, Tyler Lutz and Kirsten Sorcic, Microsoft Excel expert certification.

FFA: Byron Smith, state FFA degree.

FCCLA:  Elijah Anderson, Elicia Brown, Jalem Jones, Jailyn Kornegay, Jenna Oliver, Peyton Rogers, Bunnie Smith, Frances Paul Tan, Chase Tucker and Ashley Wilson, ServSafe certification; and Crystal Dickerson, Amir Fuller, Noah Garner, Alexis Hathaway, Jada Howell, Ashlyn Jones, Michalye Lenzi, Tristan Lewis, Carl McMahon, Daniel Rios, Princess Washington, Courtney Williams, Kaylen Williams and Michelle Williams, Workplace Readiness Job Readiness Conover Credential.

Eastern Wayne High: FBLA: Peter Ciracola, Maliq Daniels, Jackson Grady, Javoin Reid, Dizgen Swinson and Nicole Torres, Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign certification; and Caroina Smith, Microsoft Word expert certification.

FFA:  Ken Weeks, state FFA degree.

FBLA: Joshua Abernethy, YVelande Bastien and Jamiere Bracey, Adobe Illustrator and InDesign certification; Xavier Artis and Anthony White, Adobe Premiere certification; Ashiya Broadie, Malik Edwards, Adobe Illustrator certification; Deshaune White, Adobe Illustrator, Premier and InDesign; and Nakiyah Wooten, Adobe Illustrator.

Goldsboro High: Public Safety: Jaimond Forrest, ShuTorryka Graham, Fuquan Goldstone, Travion King, Jashawn Ortiz, Mekhi Roberts, Ja’Quez Sasser, Navion Staton and Roy Williams, earned all four National Incident Management Systems FEMA certifications.

HOSA: Donisha Armstrong, NyWon Bass, Christian Bullock, Tonia Coley, Jordan Newsome, Dorian Rodgers, Sierra Stephens, Isaiah Wilder and Charity Williams, OSHA health care certification/American Heart Association — CPR, AED and first aid.

Rosewood High: FBLA: Joshua Bloodsworth and Kenneth Ray Couch, Microsoft Excel Expert certification; Kayley Merritt, Will Teague and Colton Waters, Beef Quality Assurance certificate; Timothy Best, Haylah Bryant, Jamie Byrd, Donnie Corbett, Summer Gainey, Trevor Gerow, Justin Hare, Jarrett Jordan, Jhandery Lizardo-Ramos, Gabrielle Pender and John White, Beef Quality and Pork Quality Assurance certificate; Leah Chalupski and Patrick Long, Pork Quality Assurance certificate.

Southern Wayne High: FBLA: Osvaldo Ochoa-Lara, Randy Rojas and Kasey Vann, Microsoft Excel Expert certification.

FCCLA: Jennifer Lopez, ServSafe certification.

Spring Creek High: FBLA: Terrence Hampton, Toni Ramirez-Miguel and Christian Moore, Microsoft Excel Expert certification.

FCCLA: Nathan Martinez, ServSafe certification.

FFA: Lynsey Blackburn, Brendon Cox, Hayley Grady, Seth Johnson, Alexandra Kimes, Marshall Outlaw, Brent Pate, Jonathan Pineda, Davis Price, Jalen Staps, Melanie Stevens, Aubrey Wooley and Jazmyne Yelverton, state FFA degree; and Matthew Stewart, American FFA degree.